Metamagic feats and rods confusion


Rules Questions


My situation is this:
I am a lvl 16 sorcerer who has magical lineage trait for fireball and spell perfection for fireball

This is what I want to do:
I want to cast an intensified, empowered, quickened fireball and then I want to use a metamagic rod of daze on it.

These are the questions I have:
I assume that since magical lineage lowers the metamagic increase by one that I can still use spell perfection to lower the quickened cost away as well despite the 9th lvl slot limitation. Is this assumption correct?

What metamagic daze rod do I need? I would assume that I would need the normal version since the spell slot used is 5th after all modifiers are in.

This faq answer at least seem to indicate that it would not be the lesser rod:

FAQ from October 2013 wrote:

Metamagic: At what spell level does the spell count for concentration DCs, magus spell recall, or a pearl of power?

The spell counts as the level of the spell slot necessary to cast it.

For example, an empowered burning hands uses a 3rd-level spell slot, counts as a 3rd-level spell for making concentration checks, counts as a 3rd-level spell for a magus's spell recall or a pearl of power.

In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster. The advantages of the metamagic feat are spelled out in the Benefits section of the feat, and the increased spell slot level is a disadvantage.

Heighten Spell is really the only metamagic feat that makes using a higher-level spell slot an advantage instead of a disadvantage.

EDIT 1: Formatting


You are correct, you would need to use a normal metamagic rod of dazing since it's considered to be a 5th level spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metamagic feats and rods confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions