Long Arm and polymorph


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Long Arm says:

School transmutation; Level alchemist 1, bloodrager 1,
magus 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, summoner 1, witch 1
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range personal
Target you
Duration 1 minute/level (D)
Your arms temporarily grow in length, increasing your reach
with those limbs by 5 feet.

If I use a polymorph effects from something like Alter Self to become a troglyodyte, would long arm gives the claws 10ft reach?


Nope, you can't have both effects at the same time per PRD:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Bacondale wrote:

Nope, you can't have both effects at the same time per PRD:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

Long arm is not a polymorph spell and doesn't actually change your size.


Yes, the spell would increase your reach.

Grand Lodge

Some Other Guy wrote:
Bacondale wrote:

Nope, you can't have both effects at the same time per PRD:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

Long arm is not a polymorph spell and doesn't actually change your size.

Seems like you already know the answer to your question..

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
claudekennilol wrote:
Seems like you already know the answer to your question..

There may be some transmutation rule and wording I'm missing...


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Nope. Totally legal combo.


Add in a reach weapon and abbarrant bloodrager. Can anyone say 30' reach?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Long Arm and polymorph All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions