Does Possessed Hand require a focus and can it be taken twice?


Rules Questions


Making new characters and a couple questions came up. Part of the Possessed Hand feat as follows:

Any attack you make with a one-handed weapon, light weapon, unarmed strike, or natural attack with your possessed hand gains a +1 insight bonus on the attack roll and damage roll.

Would it require a chosen attack (similar to weapon focus) when you take the feat? As in, I would have to choose a one-handed weapon, or a light weapon, or an unarmed strike, etc. to receive the insight bonus. So if I choose Longsword as my one-handed weapon, I wouldn't get the insight bonus while using a dagger.

I can see how the ruling would bring it more in line with feats like weapon focus and less of a blatant +1 hit and damage on all 1-h attacks.

Secondly, is there anything against taking it twice? I have two hands, why not possess them both? Especially with it stacking with improved 2 weapon fighting feat line.

Thanks.

Lantern Lodge

The feat works with all of the listed so long as you are using that hand.

You cannot take the same feat twice unless the feat explicitly says you can.


Nerf Witches wrote:
Would it require a chosen attack (similar to weapon focus) when you take the feat?

Why should it? It's not muscle memory, it's an actual consciousness in your hand guiding your attacks - kinda like an aim-bot.

Nerf Witches wrote:
I can see how the ruling would bring it more in line with feats like weapon focus and less of a blatant +1 hit and damage on all 1-h attacks.

Why, so that the poor, poor two-handed weapon users (melee and archers) don't get outclassed when it comes to dealing damage?

Nerf Witches wrote:
I have two hands, why not possess them both?

Insurance. What if the spirits don't get along? Do you really want to wake up to one of your hands trying to rip off the other?!


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber
Derklord wrote:
Do you really want to wake up to one of your hands trying to rip off the other?!

I like to think that eventually they'd come up with a more amicable way of resolving disputes:

"One two three four, I declare a thumb war!"


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hmmm, wouldn't actually be worse if they worked together, but not working with you. How biddable is your GM? I fear tragedy in your future if he agrees to allow you to take this feat twice.

Adding this to dirty GM tricks folder, mwa ha ha ha.


There's a feat called Countenanced Carbuncle that does the same thing but is not technically Possessed Hand. Allows for the same effect twice!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Possessed Hand require a focus and can it be taken twice? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions