| ConvolutedCube |
We had an event happen last game where an animal companion got smeared with some green ooze and took a good amount of CON damage. On the second round of damage, the player placed a Belt of Mighty Constitution +2 on the companion to mitigate ooze effects. The green ooze description says it could be scraped off in the first round but the scraping item would be destroyed. Since the player wasnt using the belt to scrape I decided that rule didnt apply to the belt, however it makes sense that the belt would suffer some sort of damage since it's being applied to a character already covered by the ooze.
Would the belt be taking damage? Would it be the 1d6/round like flesh, or the 2d6/round like metal objects? Just wondering how you'd all handle it.
| Eloc |
"Damaging Magic Items
A magic item doesn’t need to make a saving throw unless it is unattended, it is specifically targeted by the effect, or its wielder rolls a natural 1 on his save. Magic items should always get a saving throw against spells that might deal damage to them—even against attacks from which a non-magical item would normally get no chance to save. Magic items use the same saving throw bonus for all saves, no matter what the type (Fortitude, Reflex, or Will). A magic item’s saving throw bonus equals 2 + 1/2 its caster level (rounded down). The only exceptions to this are intelligent magic items, which make Will saves based on their own Wisdom scores.
Magic items, unless otherwise noted, take damage as non-magical items of the same sort. A damaged magic item continues to function, but if it is destroyed, all its magical power is lost. Magic items that take damage in excess of half their total hit points, but not more than their total hit points, gain the Broken condition, and might not function properly (see the Appendix)."
-- https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/
The belt would save vs the acid damage
| blahpers |
Strictly by the book, green slime (I assume we're talking about green slime) doesn't damage attended objects unless they're being used to scrape the slime away. Attended objects normally aren't affected by attacks/hazards unless they're specifically targeted at the objects (e.g., sundering) or unless the attack has a saving throw and the victim rolls a natural 1. This theoretically means that a character can fall into a vat of green slime, climb out, and scrape the stuff off and have all of their clothes and equipment come out fine.
More realistically, there's gonna be a lot of GM adjudication depending on how the slime and creature come into contact, how it is removed, and so on.
As for whether to apply 1d6 or 1d6 and whether to apply hardness, that depends on what the belt is made of. Green slime details how it interacts with stone, metal, wood, and fleshy creatures, but not how it interacts with things like leather or cloth. More GM adjudication!