| Giilvas Vyshaan |
PF current rules - Not for the Playtest or 2.0 rules.
Can a dwarf barbarian, while raging, use a dorn-derger (from Dwarves of Golarion, as the reach weapon, not adjacent) to initiate a Bull Rush (as from the Knockback rage power) as an Attack of Opportunity when a creature exits the 10' threatened square to move adjacent to the dwarf? The Knockback allows once per round, a Bull Rush attempt against target in place of a melee attack.
The Core rules state that an AoO is a single melee attack but also states that an AoO is a free attack that interrupts the normal flow of actions. It also states that a Bull Rush is a standard action or as part of a charge, in place of a melee attack.
So the real questions are
1.) Can the barbarian use the weapon to do a Bull Rush attempt as an Attack of Opportunity, while raging, with the Knockback rage power?
2.) If you can initiate the BR attempt with a weapon as an AoO, does that take a standard action and then you forgo any additional attacks that round?
It would seem to me that the standard action required to initiate the Bull Rush would prevent it from being able to be used as an AoO.
I am in need of clarification, as a PC is attempting to use this rage power / weapon combo to the greatest effect - and also to create a perimeter around him that prevents creatures from entering adjacent squares.
| blahpers |
Agreed. Knockback (Ex) allows the barbarian to execute the bull rush once per round in place of any melee attack; this overrides the usual bull rush rules stating what action is required to initiate a bull rush and requires no addition action apart from whatever prompted the melee attack being replaced. (In the case of an attack of opportunity, no action is required at all.)
Edit: Hmm, there's a complication: Bull rush is normally not made with a weapon (normally only disarm, trip, sunder, and occasionally drag/reposition are weapon-based), so you'd only be able to do this if the enemy provokes within the range of the barbarian's normal bull rush (usually 5 feet). In some cases, weapons can be used for other combat maneuvers, but since Knockback only deals the barbarian's Strength damage rather than the weapon's damage, it'd be a questionable argument to make.
YogoZuno
|
Actually, there's nothing in the main rules outright stating that any combat maneuvers do or don't require or work with a weapon. Bull Rush, for instance, normally works on a Charge. If you are wielding a Reach Weapon when you charge, you will actually stop moving at the point where the opponent is in reach...if you could not use a weapon to perform that maneuver, you would never be able to Bull Rush with a reach weapon.
| Derklord |
Actually, there's nothing in the main rules outright stating that any combat maneuvers do or don't require or work with a weapon.
This blog does.
The maneuvers that do allow using a weapon are the ones that say you make them "in place of a melee attack". Which is exactly the wording Knockback has. Since you are usign the weapon, it normal properties should apply, including reach (which also means that you can't bull rush someone with Knockback if he's too close).
@blahpers: The trip maneuver doesn't do any damage and yet uses the weapon. If we accept that you can use trip with a reach weapon in the described situation, Knockback works as well.