| Mechanical Pear |
I've done searches on this forum, read the books...I'm still confused.
Nothing in the wizard ability says I can't have a familiar and a bonded item. As I'd be a Runesage, my bonded item would be an ioun stone.
Then I take a level into Tattooed Sorcerer, and it's saying "This doesn't allow you to have both". As though I weren't allowed to have both in the first place.
I want a familiar, obvious (because familiars), but if there is a rule out there saying I can't have both, I could still take Tattoed Sorcerer, and just not gain a familiar, correct? I'd keep my bonded ioun stone instead.
| Falkyron |
Here's the rundown.
Bonded item and familiar both stem from the same class feature: Arcane Bond. Arcane Bond allows you to choose a familiar or bonded item. How it scales is linked to your effective wizard level for the Arcane Bond.
Arcane Bond powers either a familiar or a bonded item. Other classes have come since which say 'This functions as the wizard's Arcane Bond' and as a part of that they usually say they stack with the wizard's levels to determine the power (as in, you don't ever have two of them). This is intentional.
Tattooed sorcerer also has this limitation. When you acquire a familiar, you acquire one as per the wizard's Arcane Bond. It links all classes that gain an Arcane Bond together, and as such your levels in classes that grant effective wizard levels increase the familiar's power.
Even the Familiar Bond feat states 'You can never have more than one familiar' and that language always seems present and clear.
Things get iffy when an ability doesn't reference the Arcane Bond class feature. However the archetype does in this case, so the mechanics of it are clear: once you take wizard levels, you get to add the wizard levels to your sorcerer levels to determine how strong your tattoo familiar is. You merge the Arcane Bonds together.
Edit: Typo, formatting.
| Mechanical Pear |
Gotcha. Thank you for the breakdown :)
Last question on the matter, then.
Bloodline Familiars do not have such language. Therefore, I could get a familiar and a bond, that way. HOWEVER, should I decide to still go Tattooed Sorcerer, I could not "just not get a familiar from tattooed", but then get one anyway from Bloodline familiar. Because Bloodline Familiar requires me to do away with my first bloodline power, but I don't have one, because Tattooed takes it away.
This is correct, yes?
And it may seem all convoluted, but if I'm dipping one level in sorc, netting Varisian Tattoo for free would be super sweet for this build. And familiars are still useful, even if I count as only level 1 wizard.
Scratch that. Raises another question. Use sorc to get familiar, Wizard caster level to gain Improved Familiar. I mean, RAW. But I hate obvious cheese. But it'd work, from what I see.
EDIT: Nevermind, there's a FAQ saying no to the second question.
| Falkyron |
The character gains a familiar (as a wizard’s familiar), treating her class level as her wizard level for the purposes of this ability.
As a wizard's familiar, and notes effective wizard level.
Because Bloodline Familiar requires me to do away with my first bloodline power, but I don't have one, because Tattooed takes it away.
This is correct, yes?
100% accurate, yes. Since you have already traded away your 1st-level bloodline power to acquire a tattoo familiar, you no longer possess a 1st-level bloodline power to trade for a bloodline familiar.
Use sorc to get familiar, Wizard caster level to gain Improved Familiar. I mean, RAW. But I hate obvious cheese. But it'd work, from what I see.
EDIT: Nevermind, there's a FAQ saying no to the second question.
Your effective wizard level is the caster level prerequisite when it comes to Improved Familiar, not your sorcerer caster level. If your wizard levels are contributing to your familiar's progression, and you originally gained the familiar from sorcerer, then you can qualify.