Raging Synthesist


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

15 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

If a Barbarian/Synthesist Summoner enters a rage while his eidolon is fused, what happens?

Rage spell, same question.

Mutagen, same question.

Liberty's Edge

Good question. I always just assumed that it would modify the eidolon's attributes, but is that ever stated?


As long as both the eidolon(outsider), or the summoner himself (InsertRaceHere) are valid targets of the spell, ability, potion, feature, 'i' believe it should work.

"While fused, the synthesist counts as both his original type and as an outsider for any effect related to type, whichever is worse for the synthesist."

Would be the guideline i look at when applying any decision.

VMMY


I never understood why people wouldn't FAQ it if they didn't know the answer.

Dark Archive

@Rathendar: Share spells steps around type requirements for the summoner (example listed is enlarge person on the outsider, ultimately this is retained by a synthesist)

@Cheapy: I agree. I'd like to see a lot about Synthesist cleaned up, it's banned from my campaigns/APs until it's fixed a little better. It's really like someone woke up one morning and decided they wanted to re-create 3rd edition wild shape.


I definately understand the issue of why it could possibly not work. In fact, I do not believe it does RAW as it would modify the host's stats, not the eidolon's yet the eidolon's is what is used.

A cognatogen would work for certain. But rage, and mutagen... I wonder. Hitting FAQ.


It works. There is nothing stating that it should not work - and you modify the synthesist attributes as normal, as long as you use the eidolons stats for his physical stats.

If it should not work, the Synthesist would also be immune to stat damage / drain of his physical attributes and he is not. He would also be immune to most of the effects of fatigue / exhausting - and he is not (simply because it would make him too powerful).

This might not be written down specifically anywhere, but the opposite is not either, and then we must go by the default - that it should work exactly as the rules play out with any other character.


...just as well, I'll still hit the FAQ - the synthesist needs all the attention it can get ;)


It works in one of 3 ways
-The eidolon's stats are modified and not the summoner's, in which case you get the bonus on your attacks and to your hp.
-The summoner's stats are modified and not the eidolon's, in which case you only get the bonuses to your hp
-Both the eidolon's stats and the summoners are modified, because both are raging, and you get the bonus to your attacks as well as double the bonus to your hp

Scarab Sages

Jiraiya22 wrote:

-Both the eidolon's stats and the summoners are modified, because both are raging, and you get the bonus to your attacks as well as double the bonus to your hp

This ^^

The synthesist is treated as a single entity. As an example: our fused synthesist casts Rage, gains all the bonuses and penalties. While under the effect of his Rage spell, his eidolon is banished. The synthesist continues to be affected, but is applying the effects to his unfused stats.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Raging Synthesist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions