Casting a target spell on an invisible creature


Rules Questions


Hi all.

So in a few sessions my party is probably going to face a glass serpent (AA2 pg. 64) on Eox. I foresee a problem with my mystic player and I want to ask you about how to approach it.

The maraquoi mystic usually uses mind thrust against enemies, but as the serpent can turn invisible temporarily, this is not possible acording to the rules.

From the CRB in the Magic chapter:

Targets
Some spells have one or more targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as defined in the spell’s description. You must be able to see or touch the target (unless the spell has an attack roll; see Spells with Attack Rolls below), and you must specifically choose that target. You do not have to select your target until you have finished casting the spell.

Mind Thrust doesn't have an attack roll, so you need to see the target or touch it. The problem is, the rules doesn't explain how to touch a target with a spell that doesn't have a range of "touch".

I'm trying to come up with an alternative to use Mind Thrust on those rounds that the serpent is invisible. So far, this is what I have:

- First, the character must be near enough the serpent to touch it. In this case, the character has a 5 ft. reach, so that means it has to be adjacent.

- Once adjacent, the character casts the spell, provoking an attack of opportunity as usual.

- If the casting is successful, as part of the same action as casting the spell, the character can attempt a melee attack against EAC to touch, taking into account that the serpent has a 50% concealment.

- If it succeeds, the spell takes effect as normal. If it fails, I suppose the spell should be lost, as it's not a touch spell, so you can't hold the charge.

So, what do you think?

Thanks!


I think the Mystic needs to invest in Detect Invisibility or shoot at the square and accept a miss chance or use one of the terrible Mystic AOE options. There’s no reason any player’s preferred tactic should work on every enemy.


Xenocrat,

What I would like to know is how would you adjudicate in your table the part of the rules that allow a spell with targets to work by touching them, since it isn't explained.

I have looked through the CRB and found nothing on it.

This is not an attempt to accomodate my player, but to work out a seemingly viable alternative provided by the rules.


It seems to me in the 'targets' description you can target a targeted spell at an adjacent creature you can touch.

I believe this is supposed to only apply to 'target creature(s) touched' spells. But just reading the rules you can target any adjacent creature you are aware of in your reach with a target spell.

The way you describe him doing this is perfectly fine. Especially considering casting spells provokes an AoO, and getting hit at all makes you lose the spell.

If the glass serpent only turns invisible temporarily, why not just recommend a readied action to hit it with a mind thrust.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Casting a target spell on an invisible creature All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions