
Bardarok |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Unfortunately rules as written religious symbols are specifically require one hand to use.
I like your backstory though. And I think a lot of GMs would probably allow it at the cost of a homebrew feat if it's that type of game. It would be comparable in power to the old Emblazon Symbol Cleric feat or Eshchew Materials Wizard feat.
Hopefully there will be a way in the final product but probably not in the playtest.

Dyesin |

Hello all! I am still new to Pathfinder and I was wanting to make a Cleric. I had a really interesting idea about making her eye a Holy Symbol and am not really finding anything against it in the rules(Maybe I am misreading something?). In her backstory she gets burned badly on one side of her body as a child. She looses her parents and her grandmother takes her in and turns her to the faith of her deity, Sarenrae, and my character becomes a devoted servant. She ends up loosing a holy symbol that her mother gave her(the only thing she has left from her) and prays for aid. This was the first time he has every prayed for assistance for herself, after aiding the temple/others and praying for others in the many years of serving the temple. Eventually she has a dream that Sarenrae comes to her and agrees to give her a more permanent holy symbol, because she for some reason can't help her find this old one, and gives her a bonus of healing her burn scars for her devotion.
I am not sure if I gave you guys unneeded information but I just wanted to see if there was a strict rules against having a body part a holy symbol or not. Thanks in advance guys and again I am new to this. Go easy on me if I am doing something wrong.

Dyesin |

Unfortunately rules as written religious symbols are specifically require one hand to use.
I like your backstory though. And I think a lot of GMs would probably allow it at the cost of a homebrew feat if it's that type of game. It would be comparable in power to the old Emblazon Symbol Cleric feat or Eshchew Materials Wizard feat.
Hopefully there will be a way in the final product but probably not in the playtest.
Thank you so much for your feedback. I was also thinking of having her hold her hand to her eye. But I don't know if that would work. I guess I will have to use it another time.

Fuzzypaws |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

As I see it, the only particular requirements to be able to use a holy symbol are that you pay for the symbol, and that you be able to take the requisite Material Component action. This latter usually requires holding / presenting a symbol in one hand. So, I at least would say you can do it, provided that you mark the cost of the symbol off your money, and keep the symbol hand free (not holding another item).
If you want to use it while holding a 2H weapon or whatever, you would need to take the relevant feat.