| deuxhero |
AoE spells don't do anything special to creatures that take more than one space, but Screaming Flames isn't a normal AoE spell.
Effect a sheet of flame up to 15 ft. long and 10 ft. high that moves 15 ft. in a straight line. [...]
A sheer wall of flame appears and rushes away from you.
Tendrils of fire reach out of it, shaped into skulls screaming in agony. When the wall passes through a creature’s space, that creature must succeed at a Reflex save or take 1d8 points of fire damage for every 2 caster levels you have (maximum 5d8). Any creature taking fire damage must also succeed at a Will save or take 1d3 points of Wisdom damage. Deaf creatures receive a +4 circumstance bonus on their Will saves.
Seems to me the wall can pass through a creature's space 3 times if they are large enough, dealing damage each "tic" (fireball by contrast only hits on one tic). Similar to how a creature moving through an occupied space provokes AoOs each square (even though a creature can't take them all do to AoO rules it still provokes separately).
| Dave Justus |
1st The spell is instantaneous. Despite the description, of them rushing away there is only one 'when'.
2nd while a creatures space may occupy multiple squares, they only have one space and the 'when' it paces through that space would be a single occurrence.
Similar to how a creature moving through an occupied space provokes AoOs each square (even though a creature can't take them all do to AoO rules it still provokes separately).
This is wrong. Leaving an opponents threatened square provokes one time per movement (per opponent) there is only 'one opportunity' no matter how many threatened squares are moved out of.