Spell Turning question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So, a technical question arose from our last game session. Our heroes were confronted by a lich who cast Chain Lightning at them. One of our heroes is a wizard with Spell Turning cast upon himself. The wizard was third out of four struck by the chain lightning.
The question arose whether the spell turning would turn back the chain lightning upon the caster when the wizard was a secondary target and not the primary target of the spell.

Any help is appreciated.


I'd say yes it could be effected and turned by the Wizard. I'd also say it was independent of whatever effect it had on the other 3 targeted PCs, that is turning it or not would not prevent the other 3 PCs from being targeted and potentially effected. If the wizard had been the primary target then I'd lean towards it preventing it from arcing to secondary targets if fully turned.

Definitely not an every day rules/spell interaction it'll be interesting to see what others have to say.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Turning question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions