Possible Dev Clarification on dispel vs multiple target spells and summons?


Rules Questions


Hey guys,

Seeing a lot of conflicts in how dispels, specifically targeted dispel, is RAW vs how it's handled by GM's apparently. Just wondering about the resolution of two opposing situations.

Via Raw, targeted dispel appears to do two different things in these situations.

1) Haste/party buffs - the prevailing wisdom seems to be that targeted dispel ONLY removes haste or similar mass spell effects for a single individual, rather than cutting off the source (spell) for all individuals covered by it.

2) Completely in opposition to the above, summoned creatures seem to be a difference in opinion, where people have said, and via RAW, when a targeted dispel hits a summoned creature, all summons via that spell (ex: a 3 creature summon spell), all of them go poof back to their otherplanar homes.

Can anyone clarify the difference of these two situations, or give me a better understanding of why they'd work differently/ what the intent was here? Is it a 'this is just meant for readying a dispel against the summon or buff'? or does the dispel actually remove ALL for everyone on both instances as RAW?

Thanks all!


1.

Dispel Magic wrote:
Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell’s caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.

Emphasis mine. If the caster succeeds at their dispel check, the spell ends, full stop.

2.

Dispel Magic wrote:
If you target an object or creature that is the effect of an ongoing spell (such as a monster summoned by summon monster), you make a dispel check to end the spell that conjured the object or creature.

Same thing here--a successful targeted dispel ends the entire summon monster spell.

TL;DR: They don't work differently at all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Possible Dev Clarification on dispel vs multiple target spells and summons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions