Summon Natures Ally


Rules Questions


My question is about the wording (as i can't seem to find an answer anywhere) of this spell. Lets say I cast SNA IV, the wording is:

This spell functions like summon nature’s ally I, except that you can summon one 4th-level creature, 1d3 3rd-level creatures of the same kind, or 1d4+1 lower-level creatures of the same kind.

To me that reads that you can summon, one 4th lvl creature, AND 1d3 3rd lvl creatures, OR 1d4+1 lower lvl..

Am I correct to use the word "and" there?

Thanks in advance!

Silver Crusade

No. It's 1, or 1d3, or 1d4+1


Grammar rules:

Quote:
This spell functions like summon nature’s ally I, except that you can summon (one 4th-level creature), (1d3 3rd-level creatures of the same kind), or (1d4+1 lower-level creatures of the same kind).

I added "(" and ")" to make it simpler.

A list separated by AND, as well as a list separated by OR are shown by a list with only the last entry showing the connecting word.

/cevah


What they said. In English, the coordinating conjunction determines the relationship between members of a comma-separated series. If you don't see an "and", then there ain't no "and".


I'm pretty good in English, but I couldn't remember the term.
You must be an English Nerd.
Good to know.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon Natures Ally All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.