Savage Slice wording questions - what is your "last action" when dependent actions appear?


Classes


Hi folks,

A player has expressed interest in taking the Druid's Savage Slice in a game and had a few questions about the wording. I have given a few default answers based on my interpretation but I'd like to know if they match what others have been doing.

Can Savage Slice be repeated? My answer: yes, per the Dependent Abilities rules Savage Slice executes a modified Strike, so counts as a Strike that dealt Slashing damage.

However, I'm not 100% sure on this, as the Dependent Abilities rules talk a lot about the traits of actions but nothing about what an action "is".

For the "last action" wording, it is also not clear which of the Savage Slice and the dependent Strike take place last. This may seem pedantic, but if there were an action that required that your "last action" had the Druid trait, it would seem illogical to argue that you cannot do it after Savage Slice because your last action was actually the dependent Strike. Yet only one of them can be your "last".

When Savage Slice is repeated, do the damage dice stack? My answer: no, per the Dependent Abilities rules, Savage Slice modifies the base Strike, not a duplicate of the Strike that met its requirements.

Does Savage Slice count for multi attack penalty (MAP)? My answer: yes, although Savage Slice does not have the Attack trait, the dependent Strike it triggers does.

Can your "last action" be during the previous round? I could not answer this one. There seems to be no specific definition of what constitutes your "last action" (nor whether taking a trigger changes your last action, or if the trigger would be your "last reaction" and thus a different thing). Does anyone have a good answer on this?

Can Savage Slice be triggered after Double Slice obtained via Dedication feats? It seems clear that it can be triggered after Double Slice because Double Slice is a modified Strike, but would be at double MAP because Double Slice says so.

What is trickier is if Savage Slice can only be triggered if the second hit of the Double Slice hits, since only that is your "last" action. Double Slice says that the Strikes are combined for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses, but not for the purpose of action economy.


Can Savage Slice be repeated? Yes. It does not have the Open trait. Your last action was still a Strike with a slashing weapon.

When Savage Slice is repeated, do the damage dice stack? No, same reason

Does Savage Slice count for multi attack penalty (MAP)? Yes, for the same reasons as the Monk's Flurry of Blows: you are performing a Strike action that has the Attack trait.

Can your "last action" be during the previous round? I think the intent is "no," but it's not listed.

Can Savage Slice be triggered after Double Slice obtained via Dedication feats? I don't see why not. Again following your own logic: the second weapon would need to be slashing (but nothing says you can't choose the order of which weapon you use, just that you can't use the same weapon twice).


Nothing says you can't choose the order of weapon you use, but the issue is that if the first attack of the Double Slice hit and the second one missed, does this disqualify Savage Slice?


hyphz wrote:
does this disqualify Savage Slice?

If you make a regular strike and miss, does it disqualify Savage Splice?


Yes, Savage Slice says the Strike must deal damage and a missed one does not.


Then there you go.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Classes / Savage Slice wording questions - what is your "last action" when dependent actions appear? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Classes
Alchemical Familiar?