| Samarex |
Good morning all,
I need a rules clarification.
Burn and Corrode Critical Effect. ( they work the same other than the type Damage so Im just going to use Burn.
CONDITION DESCRIPTIONS pg 273
Burning
I read this and it is not clear when it talks about the saving throw and stacked effects of burning.
It says " Fire damage from multiple sources that inflict the burning condition is cumulative." and "If you succeed at this saving throw, you lose the burning condition."
I seen this as the Effects stack and if you succeed at the saving throw ALL burning conditions are removed. But I was questioned by one of the other developers that he thinks we need to roll a Save for Each condition.
I would like to have some clarification on how this rule works.
Thanks
| Sam Hatch |
I've had this conversation with another other GM in our group. We think that once a character is burning, it is a REALLY big deal. Especially if Incendiary Grenades or extra criticals get involved.The key is that Burn Condition damage stacks from any source (except the ignite special property)and only Burn damage affects the reflex save.
So an example:
A Space Goblin crits a PC with a junklaser. He takes double damage from the attack and gains the Burn 1d4 condition. On his next turn he takes 1d4 Burn (for 2 damage), attempts the Reflex DC 12 at the end of his turn and fails.
During the next round he is accidentally hit by a "friendly" incendiary grenade and fails the Reflex DC 13, taking 1d4F(4) and gaining an additional Burn 1d4. Giving him a total of Burn 2d4. On his next turn he takes 2d4 Burn (for 7 damage). He then decides to spend a Full Action to "stop, drop and roll." At the end of his turn he attempts the Reflex DC 17, but gets a +6 bonus on the roll (+2 from a single failed consecutive save, and +4 from smothering the fire). This time he passes and ends all burn conditions.
| Samarex |
I've had this conversation with another other GM in our group. We think that once a character is burning, it is a REALLY big deal. Especially if Incendiary Grenades or extra criticals get involved.The key is that Burn Condition damage stacks from any source (except the ignite special property)and only Burn damage affects the reflex save.
So an example:
A Space Goblin crits a PC with a junklaser. He takes double damage from the attack and gains the Burn 1d4 condition. On his next turn he takes 1d4 Burn (for 2 damage), attempts the Reflex DC 12 at the end of his turn and fails.During the next round he is accidentally hit by a "friendly" incendiary grenade and fails the Reflex DC 13, taking 1d4F(4) and gaining an additional Burn 1d4. Giving him a total of Burn 2d4. On his next turn he takes 2d4 Burn (for 7 damage). He then decides to spend a Full Action to "stop, drop and roll." At the end of his turn he attempts the Reflex DC 17, but gets a +6 bonus on the roll (+2 from a single failed consecutive save, and +4 from smothering the fire). This time he passes and ends all burn conditions.
Thank you thats the way I look at it. Also another one of the Devs here at FG also stated
"I believe that you are no longer burning once you have succeeded in the save. The save is vs the damage from the cumulative sources and so the save is vs the cumulative sources."So I am leaving my Fantasy Grounds SFRPG rule set the way I have put it. It is set to add up the multi-able same die (I.E d4) and replace the existing burn condition with a new one with the total die. So if you already have burning 1d4 and get again with a burn 1d4 it replaces the original with a 2d4 until the condition is cleared.
| kaid |
I've had this conversation with another other GM in our group. We think that once a character is burning, it is a REALLY big deal. Especially if Incendiary Grenades or extra criticals get involved.The key is that Burn Condition damage stacks from any source (except the ignite special property)and only Burn damage affects the reflex save.
So an example:
A Space Goblin crits a PC with a junklaser. He takes double damage from the attack and gains the Burn 1d4 condition. On his next turn he takes 1d4 Burn (for 2 damage), attempts the Reflex DC 12 at the end of his turn and fails.During the next round he is accidentally hit by a "friendly" incendiary grenade and fails the Reflex DC 13, taking 1d4F(4) and gaining an additional Burn 1d4. Giving him a total of Burn 2d4. On his next turn he takes 2d4 Burn (for 7 damage). He then decides to spend a Full Action to "stop, drop and roll." At the end of his turn he attempts the Reflex DC 17, but gets a +6 bonus on the roll (+2 from a single failed consecutive save, and +4 from smothering the fire). This time he passes and ends all burn conditions.
This seems correct. The burn effects stacking is the fire growing in intensity but once you do the action to put the fire out it is out and the condition ends. It is mostly just so you are not trying to micromanage multiple burn effects separately which makes sense. This is also one reason I want to equip my armor with some of the new fire extinguisher options from the armory. Haha friends help extinguish friends!
Nefreet
|
It's no action.
You are on fire. As long as you have this condition, at the start of your turn each round before you take any actions (or attempt the Reflex saving throw described below), you take the listed amount of damage as fire damage (or 1d6 fire damage, if no amount is listed in the effect that causes burning). Fire damage from multiple sources that inflict the burning condition is cumulative.
At the end of each round you are burning, you can attempt a Reflex saving throw to remove this condition. The DC of this saving throw is equal to 10 + the amount of fire damage you took this round from the burning condition. If you succeed at this saving throw, you lose the burning condition. You can attempt a new saving throw each round you have this condition, and you receive a +2 bonus for each previous saving throw you’ve attempted in consecutive rounds.
You can also automatically end this condition by jumping into enough water to douse yourself. If you don’t have enough water on hand, you can spend a full action to roll on the ground or otherwise smother the fire to attempt a new saving throw with a +4 bonus (plus any bonuses from previously failed consecutive attempts) to end the condition.