Can a Medium Constrictor Snake Swallow a Large Creature?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Can a Snake: Constrictor swallow a creature one Size larger?

Can a Snake: Constrictor swallow a creature its same Size category?


W E Ray wrote:

Can a Snake: Constrictor swallow a creature one Size larger?

Can a Snake: Constrictor swallow a creature its same Size category?

RAW: A constrictor snake can't swallow any creature since they have no ability to do so.

That said, in RL constrictor snakes can swallow creatures of remarkably similar size compared to their own bodies. So in Pathfinder terms they probably can swallow a creature in their own size category (though, technically smaller than themselves). Unless you need it as a plot mechanic, a pathfinder constrictor shouldn't swallow things larger than themselves.

Grand Lodge

It's actually a brilliancy by one of my PCs. 1st Level Skinwalker Skinchanger. Evil NPC in bad town hires him to dump a dead body into the water tower. And not to get caught. He decided to change into a constrictor, swallow the body, and slither to the water tower to disgorge the body. Foolproof plan to not get caught. And slither away.

Brilliant.

But I didn't allow it because of my interpretation of RAW. And I wanted to come here to see what y'all -- who know the rules better than I -- had to say.

.

(Skinwalker: Race from Blood of the Moon. Skinchanger: Class from New Paths Compendium.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a Medium Constrictor Snake Swallow a Large Creature? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.