Spell Trigger effects and Archetypes


Rules Questions


So, here to ask a question about certain Archetypes that get something to the effect of the Spontaneous Casting class ability
In this case, we're talking about the White Mage archetype for the Arcanist.

Now, the White Mage, at level 1, gets the exploit that lets them cast any Cure spell "as if it were on her spell list and prepared". I'm wondering how this interacts with the use of Spell Trigger magic items, and the need to use the Use Magic Device skill.

For Spell Trigger items, it states that "Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell."
- Now, the clarrification with this statement is effectively, whether the Archetype gives the class itself the ability to cast the spell, or if the original class itself, the Arcanist, is able to cast the spell before the archetype is applied?

Now, for Use Magic Device, it states "Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand’s spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list."
- This is where alot of the confusion arises, because spell trigger simply states "can cast" where as UMD states "class spell list". Does this statement imply that the Spell Trigger is supposed to be "class spell list" as well? Or is this because there is only one case that I can name in the Core rulebook that actually allows people to cast spells outside their spell list? (Rogues with the Minor or Major Magic Rogue Talents)


the exploit make the cure spell part of this specific archetype class spell list. as if he has any other spell list (say a level as bard or such) the exploit doesn't automatically add to that class list.
it's a class ability that effect that class spell list = it changes his class spell list = it count for spell trigger (wands etc) items = no need for umd.


Spontaneous Healing wrote:
At 1st level, a white mage can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to use one of her spell slots to cast a cure spell (any spell with “cure” in its name) from the cleric spell list as if it were on her spell list and prepared.

RAW this exploit would have no effect on a caster's ability to activate spell trigger items. It does not add the spells to your list, it allows you to cast them as if they were on your list if you spend an arcane reservoir point and sacrifice a spell slot.

RAI I think it would be reasonable to allow it, but the caster would need to spend an arcane reservoir point to activate the item.


^


So does this mean that the section for Spell Trigger contains the rules oversight?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Trigger effects and Archetypes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions