Dual Weapon Reload... Nitpick?


Rules Discussion


I am not sure if I'm being too nitpicky here, but the requirements for Dual Weapon Reload (DWR) (https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=3294) seem to be a wee bit unclear with no hope of actual clarity until I find errata.

I'm trying to build a PROBABLY dual-wielding gunslinger, but DWR's requirements state "You are wielding two one-handed weapons, each in a different hand, one of which is a ranged weapon."

Okay, two hand-crossbows... check;
both in different hands?... so far so good;
ONE of which is a ranged weapon... okay coo-- hol' up
Is this "one" exclusive or inclusive? Must it be ONLY one of the two weapons, or is it AT LEAST one of the two weapons? I have seen "at least" AND "only" in various pf2 rules thus far, so I would normally presume an exclusion is intentional, but the question here is, "which one was excluded intentionally?"

I feel like I'm supposed to presume, based on the general feel of the gunslinger class and especially the existence of twin shot feats, that they MUST have meant "at least one," and it feels like having to drop or stow just to reload, or ultimately being dependent on advanced repeating weapons (unless you could actually obtain them) would be a bit too much of a nerf. Am I missing something, or does it seem safe to presume RAI is "at least one?"


1 person marked this as a favorite.
KadrianReildel wrote:

Is this "one" exclusive or inclusive? Must it be ONLY one of the two weapons, or is it AT LEAST one of the two weapons? I have seen "at least" AND "only" in various pf2 rules thus far, so I would normally presume an exclusion is intentional, but the question here is, "which one was excluded intentionally?"

... Am I missing something, or does it seem safe to presume RAI is "at least one?"

At least one. There's no 'exactly one ranged' wording.

I think it's written like that because you reload only one weapon, and that one has to be ranged, obviously. What you have in the other hand is irrelevant (except it's a one-handed weapon).


When I was contemplating Dual-Weapon Reload, Into the Fray, and Reloading Strike, I found the Way of the Drifter pregen character for the Head Shot the Rot one-shot to be informative

Doc Featherton has all three feats, naturally, and has two weapons on her character sheet. A dragon mouth pistol with reinforced stock, and a +1 dueling pistol with bayonet

Dual-Weapon Reload has the wording of "one of which is a ranged weapon" which I agree with Errenor doesn't exclude the other one being a ranged weapon

but Reloading Strike has the requirement of "You're wielding a firearm or crossbow in one hand, and your other hand either wields a one-handed melee weapon or is empty."

Into the Fray says, "You can Interact to draw a one-handed ranged weapon and can then Interact to draw a one-handed melee weapon."

if the character's second weapon was just a ranged weapon with no attached melee weapon it wouldn't qualify for either of these feats. But since both guns have attached melee weapons, and they're the only weapons on her sheet, the writers apparently considered them to be ranged and melee weapons at once


I would agree with the others here. One of the weapons must be a ranged weapon. The other one could be any type of one-handed weapon.

You couldn't use the feat if you were holding a pistol in one hand and a wand in the other because a wand is not a weapon. It is a held item.

But you could use the feat if you are holding a pistol in one hand and a short sword in the other, or holding a pair of hand crossbows one in each hand.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Dual Weapon Reload... Nitpick? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.