Familiar carries charge while I use scroll?


Rules Questions


Situation: My centipede familiar is holding a charge of Force Punch. I want to use a scroll of haste and have him keep carrying the charge. Is this possible? I figure it is, since I am not casting a spell as per the description of Deliver Touch Spells, I am using a spell completion item.


Should work fine IMHO.


PRD Scrolls
'Note that some spells are effective only when cast on an item or items. In such a case, the scroll user must provide the item when activating the spell. Activating a scroll spell is subject to disruption just as casting a normally prepared spell would be. Using a scroll is like casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure chance.'
'If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spell's caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scroll's caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully.'
'Determine Effect: A spell successfully activated from a scroll works exactly like a spell prepared and cast the normal way.'
'The writing for an activated spell disappears from the scroll as the spell is cast.'

PRD Use Magic Device
'Use a Scroll: Normally, to cast a spell from a scroll, you must have the scroll's spell on your class spell list.'

PRD Familiars
'Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the "toucher." The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.'

When you use a Scroll you are Casting a Spell, even if it is not from your own magical energy/Spell Slot. Deliver Touch Spells (Su) does not have any exception text to say that it is only affected by your own Spells, so I do not believe that this would work. The Familiar may act as the "toucher" but you are the source of the Spell - if you held the charge yourself in one hand you would not be able to Cast a Scroll in the other to have both. In many ways a Familiar is treated as an extension of you, (hence Share Spells, the Confusion Spell 77-100 Behaviour entry; etc.).

*Wades into the Rules Question forum with trepidation, darting straight back out again*

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Familiar carries charge while I use scroll? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions