Madness Domain: Vision of Madness


Rules Questions


For the cleric domain: Madness - It states:

Vision of Madness (Sp): You can give a creature a vision of madness as a melee touch attack. Choose one of the following: attack rolls, saving throws, or skill checks. The target receives a bonus to the chosen rolls equal to ½ your cleric level (minimum +1) and a penalty to the other two types of rolls equal to ½ your cleric level (minimum –1). This effect fades after 3 rounds. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

The question is regarding the effect fading after 3 rounds.

You cast vision of madness on enemy.
Next round I do something else.
After that round you cast something else.
Now for the next round, is my vision of madness over or is it still on for this final round?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

1st round, cleric's initiative: cleric uses VoM.
1st round, later initiatives: people do stuff.

2nd round, earlier initiatives: people do stuff.
2nd round, cleric's initiative: cleric ponders the meaning of life.
2nd round, later initiatives: people do stuff.

3rd round, earlier initiatives: people do stuff.
3rd round, cleric's initiative: cleric whistles a merry tune.
3rd round, later initiatives: people do stuff.

4th round, earlier initiatives: people do stuff.
4th round, just before cleric's initiative: VoM ends, it having been 3 rounds.
4th round, cleric's initiative: cleric dances a jig.


Your shifting of pronouns is a bit confusing, so I'll have to guess what you meant by your example. Suffice it to say, the duration goes to the beginning of the appropriate turn.

Since this is something that happens on your turn, you would get 2 following turns, and the effect would disappear at the start of the 3rd following turn.

So if Mr. A Cleric utilizes this on turn 1, then casts something on turn 2, and does something else on turn 3, then just before he starts his actions on turn 4, the effect would be gone.

Alternately, looking at it from the target's perspective:
Mr. A Cleric utilizes this on turn 1 (and he goes before Ms. A Fighter); Ms. A Fighter then goes for thier turn 1 on round 1; they would be effected. Same for thier action on round 2 and round 3, but, then on round 4, Mr. A Cleric goes, and the effect clears, then by the time it is Ms. A Fighter's turn to go, the effect has already cleared (just before Cleric).


Dang, should have refreshed before writing all of that out :(


thanks for the clarity guys!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Madness Domain: Vision of Madness All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions