Extended range with Lance


Rules Questions


I am considering a Drake Rider/Mammoth Rider build, but I’m not sure how Attacks would work on a huge sized Steed. At level 13, I would essentially be riding a Huge Dragon. With a Lance, I could attack 10 ft away, but if I’m sitting in the middle of a Huge sized mount, the nearest enemy would be at least 15 ft away. Would there be a way to house rule a 15ft reach Lance to be used in conjunction? I would consider the Lunge feat but what about level 17 when the Mount is Gargantuan? Has anyone faced a similar issue?


Space on a Huge creature is 15'x15'; if you are in the center you are 7.5' from each edge, so you can reach into the center of the next square. So not such a problem.

However, even if we were talking about a larger creature, I believe that a moutn and rider are considered to share the same space. So you would asdopt a space of 15'x15' and still have the reach of your weapon (10' for a lance).


You're not sitting in the middle of the mount. When mounted, you share your mount's entire space. So your lance can attack anything 10' away from your mount---but not anything adjacent to it---no matter how big the mount gets.


Awesome! Thank you for the info!


A huge mount is not exactly 15x15. A medium humanoid (yourself) is not 5x5.

While you might sit in the middle of your mount, you and your mount are free to move around inside your square(s) as you see fit. This includes repositioning to hit someone that is 10ft north of you then on the next attack, someone 10ft south.


SorrySleeping wrote:

A huge mount is not exactly 15x15. A medium humanoid (yourself) is not 5x5.

While you might sit in the middle of your mount, you and your mount are free to move around inside your square(s) as you see fit. This includes repositioning to hit someone that is 10ft north of you then on the next attack, someone 10ft south.

That's a reasonable way to think about it, but note that you still can't hit anything adjacent to the mount with your reach weapon, even by "internally maneuvering" to the opposite side.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
SorrySleeping wrote:

A huge mount is not exactly 15x15. A medium humanoid (yourself) is not 5x5.

While you might sit in the middle of your mount, you and your mount are free to move around inside your square(s) as you see fit. This includes repositioning to hit someone that is 10ft north of you then on the next attack, someone 10ft south.

That's a reasonable way to think about it, but note that you still can't hit anything adjacent to the mount with your reach weapon, even by "internally maneuvering" to the opposite side.

But your gargantuan mount can


Thunderlord wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
SorrySleeping wrote:

A huge mount is not exactly 15x15. A medium humanoid (yourself) is not 5x5.

While you might sit in the middle of your mount, you and your mount are free to move around inside your square(s) as you see fit. This includes repositioning to hit someone that is 10ft north of you then on the next attack, someone 10ft south.

That's a reasonable way to think about it, but note that you still can't hit anything adjacent to the mount with your reach weapon, even by "internally maneuvering" to the opposite side.
But your gargantuan mount can

Well, sure. Your mount's reach is natural, not weapon-based, so it can hit anything up to its reach. This is true regardless of its size.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Extended range with Lance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions