Karai Snillore
|
I have a number of questions all revolving around the enlarge person and reduce person spells.
1) If you are enlarged and given a large size item, when you shrink does it remain large? Or like arrows being shot from an enlarged archer, do they return to normal size only upon leaving the hands of the wielder?
2) If you are enlarged, grab an item intended for a large size creature, and place it in one of your bags before you return to normal size... Does it simply rip apart the bag? Does it resize with you temporarily? Is it simply squeezing in the space while continually trying to burst out?
Or does the Bag perhaps only shrink as far as it can with the item inside, until the item is removed?
3) If an enlarged creature swallows something whole, when it returns to normal size what happens with the creature previously (and assuming) only a size category lower?
4) If a creature is reduced in size, then swallowed whole---when the spell wears off assuming the original creature is normally the same size as the creature who has swallowed them... What happens?
Based on responses I'll likely have follow up questions.
I also saw that some of these where asked before, but I'm hoping for some better clarifications.
| LordKailas |
I have a number of questions all revolving around the enlarge person and reduce person spells.
The following is my understanding based on how a shrink person spell that had been cast on the party was handled in a recent game. After some rules were checked.
1) If you are enlarged and given a large size item, when you shrink does it remain large?
Since the large size item was never subjected to the spell it's not resized when the spell ends. So, it would remain large.
Or like arrows being shot from an enlarged archer, do they return to normal size only upon leaving the hands of the wielder?
arrows return to normal size after leaving the hands of the wielder unless a spell or effect states otherwise (such as in the case of gravity bow).
2) If you are enlarged, grab an item intended for a large size creature, and place it in one of your bags before you return to normal size... Does it simply rip apart the bag? Does it resize with you temporarily? Is it simply squeezing in the space while continually trying to burst out?
Or does the Bag perhaps only shrink as far as it can with the item inside, until the item is removed?
I believe the last option is correct.
3) If an enlarged creature swallows something whole, when it returns to normal size what happens with the creature previously (and assuming) only a size category lower?
I'm not sure, I think the swallowed creature would just lose the grappled condition and be forced out as if they had made a successful escape attempt.
4) If a creature is reduced in size, then swallowed whole---when the spell wears off assuming the original creature is normally the same size as the creature who has swallowed them... What happens?
The creature would still be swallowed and would not return to normal size until they escaped (either by an escape check or damage), suffering penalties for squeezing.
Karai Snillore
|
Thank you for your quick answers. They seemed to line up with what I expected and where very to the point.
One more question then and I'll likely be on my way.
If the subject of Enlarge Person has a gun, and is handed by another creature ammunition for a gun of large size then loads his gun with this ammo... What happens if the ammo is still in the gun when the subject shrinks?
Does the gun become jammed? Destroyed? Is the gun unable to shrink, or at least becomes the minimal size for the ammunition? Or does it perhaps work to cause some other kind of mechanical effect?
Likely such a niche question I imagine there is no real clear answer-but jammed or burst is my thought.
| Kiesman |
The typical "It's magic, just deal with it" answer for objects either growing within a small container, or a container shrinking around an object is that the object is simply ejected from the container. The large-sized ammunition pops the loading mechanism open and squeezes itself out before falling on the ground.
| LordKailas |
I think it would be a DM call. It's probably fair to say that the gun would just jam as per the normal rules. An argument could be made that the gun is unable to shrink back to normal size and it would just be an oversized gun until the oversized ammo has been expended.
However, the 2nd ruling leaves the door open for exploitation.
| blahpers |
The general guideline one can extrapolate from existing rules is that one of two things happens in a situation where something becomes too big for its containing space:
1. The item is ejected from said containing space.
2. The size change only partially executes to fills the containing space, with the remainder being postponed until there is sufficient room.
I tend to go with the former when it involves magical effects ending, as otherwise you could let a magical effect like reduce person continue indefinitely simply by, e.g., putting armor on said person. I tend to go with the latter for size-changing magical effects being triggered.
On a related note, there will be no feather token-based treesplosions in my games, as much fun as it sounds. : D
Edit: In the gun case, the ammo would be forcibly ejected using the above.
Edit the second: Note that extrapolating in this fashion isn't by any means foolproof. Expect table variation.