
![]() |

Beast Shape spell states you get xyz if the ANIMAL has xyz. What if the creature has xyz+10? Like a Fly of 40 instead of 30? What if its fly speed is a different maneuverability than average?
Is this one of those "this or less" situations? Or is it one of those "up to this" situation? If they have Fly 40(good) does that give you Fly 30 (average) when transformed? If they have Climb 20, do you still get Climb 30? Or do you get no climb at all?
Looking for a FAQ or solid answer, as there are no ANIMALS in the original Beastiary with FLY 30 (Average - which I understand is not listed, so just Fly 30). They have Climb 30, and Fly 40, and Swim 30, etc... but no Fly 30 ANIMALS.
What other source might I look to to get a RAW correct ANIMAL for FLY 30? - and do I need to, or just tell the GM to stop being anal retentive about RAW? But it is "society play" so AR GMs are bound to pop up every once in a while at tables and I've rather not spend one minute having a semantic/RAI argument with a person if I can just point to exact verbiage that matches instead.
A FAQ would be nice as well. I know I can get the "anything less is included in" FAQ, but that doesn't mention this type of spell and may result in still having disagreements at a table. And the question remains about the "less than" side of it. If I transform into a snake, can I NOT climb 30, even if a regular snake can climb 20? So I get nothing from it?
Thanks!
(ps. list so far to cover is: Ape, Gorilla Scent, LLV and Climb 30, Elasmosaurus for Scent, LLV and Swim 30. But no animal in the Bestiary has Fly 30 (40, 50, 20, yes, no 30). (not concerned with Darkvision atm)
Dimorphodon Pterosaur in Bestiary 4 came up when I did a google search. So I guess there is one there.

Avoron |
Yep, it spells it all out in the Magic chapter of the CRB:
In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead.