Slyme
|
Ok, after looking over the rules for how swift actions work...it sounds like the following scenario should work and be legal within the rules.
Level 4+ Neutral aligned Warpriest makes an attack on an enemy...rolls a nat 20, Confirms Critical roll, then decides to activate his swift action Sacred Weapon ability to give his already naturally +1 weapon the Thundering Ability, adding the Thundering damage and deafen effect to the crit he just rolled...then rolls damage. The Thundering property then lingers on his weapon for rounds = to his Warpriest level.
From all the threads I've read about swift actions, this sounds cheesy...but perfectly legal...
Is this legal? If not, can someone point me to a rules reference to back it up for argument/defense purposes?
| blahpers |
Activating sacred weapon after hitting the opponent and confirming a critical hit is perfectly legal, but it won't do what you hope it will. You've already hit the opponent, so the ship has sailed for applying abilities that occur on a successful (critical) hit. Neither sacred weapon nor the thundering ability will go back in time and alter hits that have already occurred.
| Nyerkh |
I doubt that (although I could be wrong).
Swifts can only occur on your own turn.
Immediate actions are the ones typically used as interrupts, cancels and whatnot.
There is an overlap, as Immediates used on your turn count as your swift for the round, but they're'still different things, not to be confused.
| MrCharisma |
You sure about that? I know there are swift action abilities you can use to negate successful crit rolls, reduce damage, etc. Wouldn't this work the same way, and add damage?
You're probably thinking of Immediate Actions rather than swift (there might be some swift action ability that negates damage, but it wouldn't be the best ability since it can't be used outside your turn).
Generally speaking what blaphers said is correct. Anything that contradicts this is going to specifically say so, which means it's SPECIFIC rule is trumping the GENERAL rule.
Unless you can find an ability/item/spell/etc that specifically says you can do this I think you're out of luck (and if you can great).