Weaponwand - FAQ Questions (Attack and utility)


Rules Questions


I appreciate there are similar threads but none that tackle my specific query, I am playing a Heresy/spellbreaker Inquisitor - using the baddies confiscated magic against them and infiltrating their ranks using a mix of face and fluffy meta. I would like to know what taking Weaponwand entails so I dont overstep my bounds or misinterpret the RAI/RAW.

So in regards to the Spell RAW

"If the effect created by the wand requires an attack roll to successfully strike a foe, you may make the attack roll as if you were making an attack with the weapon at its highest bonus (including any bonuses the weapon would normally receive) rather than just a normal attack with the wand"

1 - Ranged spell delivery

As I read this by using weaponwand we use the weapons attack (Highest) to deliver the spell (Assuming the spell requires an attack roll to work) So if I was using a Dagger does this mean I use my daggers Ranged attack to deliver the spell assuming the attack roll required is ranged?

2 - Melee/ranged spell crit threat/delivery

Similarly if I am using my weapon as the delivery by "Making an attack with the weapon at its highest bonus" for melee/ranged attacks does that mean the Crit threat range is (19-20 x2) as per the daggers weapon profile? (Assuming the spell used requires said roll)

3 - Non roll delivery

The only thing I am confident in is the use of a wand as standard rules. For instance using a wand of fireball inside my dagger will still prompt a Use magic device for using a wand with a Sorcerer spell inside it BEFORE I can make the attack roll with it.
(DC20)

Any answers or discussion is appreciated in regards to the above!

-Tipper-


1. You can use either method--melee or ranged.

2. I'd say yes to the range but no to any change in multiplier. The former is a function of the attack roll. The latter is a function of damage, which is explicitly not added to the attack.

3. It's just as you say. (I assume you're trying to maneuver the fireball through a narrow space--otherwise, you don't need an attack roll at all and can just do with the dagger whatever you'd do with a wand.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weaponwand - FAQ Questions (Attack and utility) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions