Riding possession questions


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Concerning the spell riding possession.

1 If you're riding something, do you sense what they sense?

2 Assuming the answer is yes: if you cast spells as purely mental actions (probably because you're a psychic caster), does that mean you're able to target creatures sensed by the creature you're riding?

3 Assuming the second answer is yes, too. Would your point of origin for the spell be your soul's or your (own) body's

4 Do any of the answers change if you're riding a willing target, your own familiar, or even a willing target you're continually mental contact with?


1) Yes, Possession grants you the ability to use their senses; Riding Possession doesn't say otherwise, therefor Riding Possession does as well.

2) Yes, you can cast spells while Possessing a creature, provided they are purely mental actions to do so.

3) Point of origin is the possessed creature; that's where you are when you cast it. Your own body is "vacant" while you're busy possessing someone.

4) No reason why it would work any differently.

Silver Crusade

That means that this spell is more awesome than I thought. Thank you!

So you could possess the party fighter and cast spells on enemies while doing so. Even heal or buff the fighter!

The only problem would be that you can't touch anyone, but reach metamagic would make quick work of that problem.

Silver Crusade

What seems weird to me, though, is that the spell specifically mentions the ability to cast mental spells on the host, but nowhere denies the ability to use any other purely mental ability (such as casting spells).

So it would, by RAW, appear that the whole part about the ability to target the host is superfluous.
What would be RAI, though? Should you, for example, be able to manifest your phantom, while riding? Or use the animal mastery supernatural power from the symbiosis discipline? And from where would you then calculate the miles/level?

In any case, next question.

When instigating a psychic duel, while riding a host, am I right in assuming any damage dealt to the riding duellist in the psychic duel is dealt to the host? This would leave the actual body of the rider completely unharmed, right?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Riding possession questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.