| DaPenguins |
Okay so I am very experienced in pathfinder and a single effect of this spell (when rereading it) that stuck out oddly to me. Its the casting a spell of level 2 or lower with 1 of 4 metamagics on it. Here is the text
"
-Cast a single spell of 2nd level or lower as if it were an enlarged, extended, silent, or still spell.
These effects are not cumulative with similar effects, such as those provided by haste or a speed weapon, nor do they actually grant an extra action, so you can't use it to cast a second spell or otherwise take an extra action in the round.
"
Does this spell you cast take your standard action or is it refferencing the rule stating that you may not cast more than one spell a turn unless that spell may be cast as a swift action. I have always ran it as it just enhanced your normal cast but am I wrong? Could i say cast resist energy extended then attack with my standard? I feel like the correct answer is no but I would love to see what others interpret the RAW as.
| Derklord |
Casting a spell is an action. Blessing of Fervor says it doesn't grant an extra action. It's pretty clear cut. What you get is "one of the following bonuses" - a bonus is something you add to an existing thing.
In this case, one spell you cast during that round can have the effects of one of the listed metamagic feats applied. The spell you cast takes whatever action it takes. It could be a standard action, swift action, full-round action, even immediate action on an opponent's turn.
It's not actually clear if there is a "only one spell per round" rule. The only mention of it is in some text (copied from 3.5) saying that swift action spells preak that rule, but it's not actually stated as a rule anywhere. It's almost irrelevant, because the very few things granting additional standard actions explicitly forbid spellcasting.