Sage Bloodline


Rules Questions


Sage Bloodline wrote:
Arcane Bolt (Sp): Starting at 1st level, you can unleash a ray of magic force as a standard action, targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. This ray deals 1d4 points of damage + 1 for every two sorcerer levels you possess. This damage is treated as a spell of a level equal to half your sorcerer level, and is a force effect. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier. This bloodline power replaces arcane bond.

For what purposes is this bloodline power treated as a spell? Can I use a level-boosting trait like Ascendant Recollection to qualify for Eldritch Knight with five sorcerer levels?


1. For the purposes of anything that cares about the spell level of a particular spell-like ability, such as globe of invulnerability or concentration check DCs.

2. Nope. Eldritch knight has the prerequisite "Able to cast 3rd-level arcane spells", not "Able to cast arcane bolt". (Note: This "FAQ" murdered almost all of the early entry shenanigans allowed prior to said FAQ.)


Ah ok, I get it now. The wording of the ability threw me off. So what it's trying to say is "this ability is treated as mimicking a spell of a level equal to half your sorcerer level, instead of a 1st-level spell." Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sage Bloodline All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.