Sq. Ft. / Level shapeable?


Rules Questions


A few spells (Glyph of warding for example) say an area "5 sq. ft./level".

Does this have to be a square, or is it shape-able as long as it's total area does not exceed 5 sq. feet/level. It doesn't have the (S) to say it's shapeable, but square feet areas do not have to be square.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That... is a tiny area. And since it’s an area and doesn’t list as shapeable, then it’s not (particularly since you’d need to be 20th level to make a 10x10 area).


Spells aren't shapable unless they have the S.


If you were in a 2.5ft wide corridor then I think a 10ft long rectangle down the corridor would be a legitimate placing of said spell. But if you had the space to lay down 5ft squares I think that's fine.

I think it's supposed to be one 5 foot square, as in one box on the grid per level. Rather than 5 square feet, which would be 1/5th of a square.. which makes no in game sense.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sq. Ft. / Level shapeable? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions