Over Experience due to pregen play?


Pathfinder Society

3/5

I have a potential odd situation. I played 2 level 7 pregens (both were 7-11 scenarios) and that character is currently sitting at 17 experience (lvl 6.666).

If I play one game worth 1xp, this is easy. I go to level 7, apply the two pregens chronicle sheets, and jump to 7.666.

However, if I play a game with 3xp, I'll jump to 7.666, then have to apply the two pregen sheets.
Here is where I am confused...

1) Since they are both 7-11 modules, it's not a big deal. I apply both sheets to the character, taking her to 8.333.

2) Since I played them with pregens that were level 7, I can only apply them to a 7th level character. I can apply one of them, but then the other is effectively "lost" since I am now over the appropriate level.

3) They were supposed to be applied to fresh a 7th level character. Since the character isn't a fresh 7th level character, the sheets are effectively "lost".

or is it something else?

Would it have mattered if the chronicle sheets were of a different level?

Thanks

The Exchange 4/5 5/5

PFS RPG Guide page 7 wrote:
If you apply credit for multiple adventures at once, your Roleplaying Guild character might advance multiple levels. The character’s level cannot exceed the tier range of any Chronicle sheets applied to her.

You are fine to apply them both. You won’t go past the tier range of those 7-11 scenarios.

1/5 5/5

Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

Where the concern would come in is if you had played two 1-7 or 3-7 scenarios, and were in the circumstance of being at 7.2 with two scenarios to apply before 'being out of their bracket'.

...raises hand weakly... I was in a position close to what you are positing, which is why they added that rule.

3/5

Wei Ji the Learner wrote:


Where the concern would come in is if you had played two 1-7 or 3-7 scenarios, and were in the circumstance of being at 7.2 with two scenarios to apply before 'being out of their bracket'.

...raises hand weakly... I was in a position close to what you are positing, which is why they added that rule.

So, what would happen if you were in the situation you mentioned. Two 3-7 modules with lvl 7 pregens.

My guess is, the tier for the pregens would have been 6-7, so apply one at 6 and one at 7 and you'd be safe....

1/5 5/5

Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

Or not play anything to put experience past L7 so they could be applied and/or slow track to make sure the target is not missed.

1/5

Option 1, above, is correct.

Or you could apply the credit to two different characters... as long as both were level 7.

The Exchange 4/5 5/5

Sir Belmont the Valiant wrote:


Or you could apply the credit to two different characters... as long as both were level 7.

That’s not an option at this point. When you play a pregen you have to decide what character you are applying the credit to at the beginning of the adventure. (PFS RPG Guide 9.0 page 6)

3/5

Kevin Willis wrote:
Sir Belmont the Valiant wrote:


Or you could apply the credit to two different characters... as long as both were level 7.
That’s not an option at this point. When you play a pregen you have to decide what character you are applying the credit to at the beginning of the adventure. (PFS RPG Guide 9.0 page 6)

This much I know as well. Plus, it was reported for this character a few months ago.

4/5 5/55/55/55/5 **** Venture-Agent, Minnesota—Minneapolis

shalandar wrote:

I have a potential odd situation. I played 2 level 7 pregens (both were 7-11 scenarios) and that character is currently sitting at 17 experience (lvl 6.666).

If I play one game worth 1xp, this is easy. I go to level 7, apply the two pregens chronicle sheets, and jump to 7.666.

However, if I play a game with 3xp, I'll jump to 7.666, then have to apply the two pregen sheets.
Here is where I am confused...

1) Since they are both 7-11 modules, it's not a big deal. I apply both sheets to the character, taking her to 8.333.

This is the correct answer.

shalandar wrote:
2) Since I played them with pregens that were level 7, I can only apply them to a 7th level character. I can apply one of them, but then the other is effectively "lost" since I am now over the appropriate level.

That is not how it works.

Your character was below the level of the pregen when it was played, so that is alright.

The pregen was in tier for the adventure, so that is alright.

They would both be applied bringing you to 8th level.

You can get into a problem with playing the pregen so much that it would bring you to a different tier for rewards. You got 7-8 rewards, but it would bring you to level 9 which means out of tier rewards. The simple answer is please don’t do that. The more complicated answer is Contact a Local VL or VC and ask them to help you fix it.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Over Experience due to pregen play? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society