Another question about grab and multi-attack


Rules Questions


Hi everyone!

I know that are a lot of questions related to this theme, but, I get another one.

Let's check the Kraken Style feat:

Quote:


Benefit: When you succeed at a grapple check while using this style, your opponent takes an amount of bludgeoning damage equal to your Wisdom modifier in addition to any damage your grapple deals, such as when you choose to harm your opponent as part of a successful check to maintain a grapple. In addition, you gain a +2 bonus on combat maneuver checks to maintain a grapple.

Now, suppose a Druid with this feat using wild shape to shape into a Tiger

Quote:


Speed 40 ft.
Melee 2 claws +10 (1d8+6 plus grab), bite +9 (2d6+6 plus grab)
Space 10 ft.; Reach 5 ft.
Special Attacks pounce, rake (2 claws +10, 1d8+6)

Question 1: In a full-round action, may this Druid get three attack (claw/claw/bite), make a CMB check for each on (due the grab monster special attack) and add her Wisdom bonus as damage in any sucessfull CMD check?

Question 2: Assuming that she success in more than one grapple check and her target does not break the grapple on its turn. Can she make just one CMD check to mantain the grapple, or should she do one for each successful grab attack?

Question 3: If she mantain the grapple, and decide to harm her target, the damage dealt would be 2d6+6 (harm with any natural weapon, using bit in this case) plus its Wisdom bonus (due Kraken Style feat), and she gets two claw attack with +10, dealing 1d8+6 damage on each sucessfull one. Is that right?

Question 4: If she mantain the grapple, and decide to pin her target, would she deal damage equals her Wisdom bonus?


1. You get a check to initiate the grapple on each attack. You don't automatically get a grapple check every time no matter what. So if you grapple them with the bite on the first attack then you don't get a grapple check on the claw attack because they are already grappled. That is because the grab ability is to "start" the grapple, not get a grapple every time an attack lands.

2. When someone is grappled you can either make one grapple check as a standard action to keep them grappled. Otherwise they are free.

3. See 1.

4. In the case of a tiger yes, since the grab ability says that any grapple check made against a grappled opponent deals damage, and the Kraken feat applies anytime you that you do damage.


wraithstrike wrote:

1. You get a check to initiate the grapple on each attack. You don't automatically get a grapple check every time no matter what. So if you grapple them with the bite on the first attack then you don't get a grapple check on the claw attack because they are already grappled. That is because the grab ability is to "start" the grapple, not get a grapple every time an attack lands.

2. When someone is grappled you can either make one grapple check as a standard action to keep them grappled. Otherwise they are free.

3. See 1.

4. In the case of a tiger yes, since the grab ability says that any grapple check made against a grappled opponent deals damage, and the Kraken feat applies anytime you that you do damage.

Thanks for explanations. However, on the third question, I didn't understand the relation to the first question.

If she is already grappling the foe, she may, if she wishes, harm the foe, making a CMD check. If she success, she deals damage as one of its natural weapons (grapple harm option) plus her Wisdom bonus (Kraken Style feat), and, also, due its "rake" monster hability, she can make two free claws attacks. Is there any interpretation error here?


1. You only make CMB checks if you aren't already grappling. But yes, you would also add your Wisdom modifier as damage to that grapple check per RAW. RAI, I believe you need to maintain a grapple to get this benefit based on the example they give you.

2. Only one check as a Standard Action unless you have Greater Grapple. By the way, a great synergy that works with your existing attacks, so look into it.

3. Note that you can release the grapple and initiate another grapple again as part of each attack, so keep that in mind.

4. Yes.


Couldn't one simply release the grapple after each attack as a free action, thereby getting the benefit of Kraken Style each time?

Edit: Nevermind, I see Darksol already covered that under 3.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another question about grab and multi-attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions