| Steve Kilings |
So an occultist learns one spell per implement of a spell level he can cast (must have a high enough intelligence and has be able to cast it, aka spells per day). So following those rules (which have been super paraphrased) would a 1St level character with an intelligence score of say 14 be able to cast 2nd level spells from first level? I haven't played many spell casters (and most have started at higher levels) so idk if all spellcasters run into this "problem" or if you can only cast spells of a level that your class let's you cast (at least once a day). So yeah, what am I supposed to do? As much as I'd like to be able to cast 2nd-5th level spells from level one it feels like it could be a bit broken
| AaronUnicorn |
Because he doesn't have the ability to cast level 2 spells yet.
An occultist can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level per day. His base daily spell allotment is given on Table: Occultist. In addition, he gains bonus spells per day if he has a high Intelligence score.
At first level, the number of 2nd (or 3rd, or 4th, etc.) level spells isn't a zero, it has a slash through it. This means that getting bonus spells of that level doesn't help, because the Occultist doesn't have the ability to cast spells of that level - period.
We can see that there is a difference between 0 and a - because of classes like the Paladin. A 4th level Paladin can cast 0 1st-level spells. This matters, because if the Paladin's Charisma is high enough to give them bonus spells per level, then they can actually cast spells at 4th level. A Paladin with a Charisma of 20 can cast 2 1st-level spells at 4th level. A Paladin with a Charisma of 12 can't cast any. However, that 20 Charisma Paladin still can't cast any 2nd-level spells.
So, yeah, you have to look at the table for your class. If the number of spells is 0, then anything that gives you additional spells of that level adds. If it's -, then you can't cast spells of that level at all.
| blahpers |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't even use them for lower-level spells. See page 16, Abilities and Spellcasters section: "In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level."