| Wiggz |
Foretell (Su): At 8th level, you can utter a prediction of the immediate future. While your foretelling is in effect, you emit a 30-foot aura of fortune that aids your allies or hinders your enemies, as chosen by you at the time of prediction. If you choose to aid, you and your allies gain a +2 luck bonus on ability checks, attack rolls, caster level checks, saving throws, and skill checks. If you choose to hinder, your enemies take a –2 penalty on those rolls instead. You can use this ability for a number of rounds per day equal to your wizard level. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.
Is it safe to assume that activating this ability is a standard action and not the free action it would normally be to 'utter' something?
Is there any reason to think that you couldn't use both of the effects (luck bonus and penalty), activating them in successive rounds and using two rounds of the ability each round of combat?
| Avoron |
Would using the latter version of the ability be enough to negate invisibility, do you think? It doesn't target anyone and doesn't require a saving throw...
Yeah, I'm pretty sure it would.
The spell ends if the subject attacks any creature. For purposes of this spell, an attack includes any spell targeting a foe or whose area or effect includes a foe.
Some spell descriptions refer to attacking. All offensive combat actions, even those that don't damage opponents, are considered attacks. Attempts to channel energy count as attacks if it would harm any creatures in the area. All spells that opponents resist with saving throws, that deal damage, or that otherwise harm or hamper subjects are attacks. Spells that summon monsters or other allies are not attacks because the spells themselves don't harm anyone.
ProfPotts
|
1. It's a supernatural ability, so unless it states otherwise (which it doesn't) it takes a standard action to activate, and doesn't provoke an AoO. The 'utter' line looks to be fluff, not crunch.
2. It's a binary situation: the ability is either on or off, so no, you can't use both 'modes' at once. On the other hand, at level 8 it's hardly game-breaking to allow someone to do that, so I'd say it'd be a reasonable house rule to allow such use - after all, they're still burning through the same total rounds of use as they'd get otherwise.