Multiple Rings and a Focus


Rules Questions


So my co DM and I are in a bit of a heavy discussion.
As said in the Core Rule system:

Quote:


Rings

Rings bestow magical powers upon their wearers. Only a rare few have charges—most magic rings are permanent and potent magic items. Anyone can use a ring.

A character can only effectively wear two magic rings. A third magic ring doesn't work if the wearer is already wearing two magic rings.

I understand: A Player can wear as many Rings he can fit on his Fingers, for example 10, one on each finger. But only 2 Rings can be active at the same time.

If i want to change one of my 8 passive rings to active, i have to use a standart action for that, as written down here:
Quote:


To use a magic item, it must be activated, although sometimes activation simply means putting a ring on your finger. Some items, once donned, function constantly. In most cases, though, using an item requires a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. By contrast, spell completion items are treated like spells in combat and do provoke attacks of opportunity.

Activating a magic item is a standard action unless the item description indicates otherwise.

So technically, i wear 10 rings, 2 are active, i jump down a tower use a standart action to change from Ring of Protection to Ring of Feather fall, and boom. I'm save. Or other situation. My mate casts Schield others on me, I decide to deactivate my Ring of Protection and use my Platin Ring I Wear passive to make use of his spell.

This is my understanding. He is sure I cant wear more than 2 Rings in general and have to dequip and than equip a different Ring if i want to make use of it, because a Ring is always a magical item even when i dont use it actively and the rule says, a player can only wear 2 magical items.

Please help :D


In your first example you fall too quickly (500ft a round) that you cannot activate the feather fall ring (in most cases) before you hit the ground. Though technically you can get around it with a readied action.

In any event you are technically correct that you can wear more than two rings, but it does reduce the usefulness of items that let you wear more rings more easily (there is a neck slot item and a belt that help with this).


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
deva wrote:
He is sure I cant wear more than 2 Rings in general and have to dequip and than equip a different Ring if i want to make use of it, because a Ring is always a magical item even when i dont use it actively and the rule says, a player can only wear 2 magical items.

Your friend is right. You can only wear two rings. Why? Because you only have two ring slots.

CRB wrote:
Ring (up to two): rings.
CRB wrote:
A character can only effectively wear two magic rings. A third magic ring doesn't work if the wearer is already wearing two magic rings.

Note that it doesn't say that the third ring doesn't work until you spend an action to activate it. It doesn't work, period. Same for the 4th, 5th... and 10th rings.

And even if you could wear ten, have two active and activate others as a standard action, that wouldn't necessarily help you avoid death from falling. If you start falling on your adversary's turn, you might well hit the ground (ouch!) before you got to take a standard action to activate another ring.


I'm also of the opinion that I think you can legally wear rings beyond the 2 magical rings slots, that you're GM is allowed to modify the rules along this point because it devalues things like the Meridian Belt and Hand of Glory.

Quote:

MERIDIAN BELT

Price 1,000 gp; Aura moderate transmutation; CL 9th; Weight 1 lb.

This narrow cloth belt has a silver buckle in the shape of four rings. The belt allows a creature to wear a magic ring on each foot in addition to the ring on each hand, though only two rings function at any given time. As a swift action, the wearer can change which of his rings are active (both hands, both feet, left hand and right foot, and so on). For example, a creature could wear a ring of protection, ring of energy resistance, ring of swimming, and ring of counterspells, switching between any two of them as a swift action each round as it desires.

The belt does not change the type of action required to activate a ring (for example, activating a ring of invisibility is still a standard action), but allows the wearer to easily switch between the constant powers of several worn rings. While the belt is worn, wearing a ring on a foot counts toward the attunement process of certain rings (such as a ring of sustenance) even if the belt isn't used to make that ring active during that attunement period.

CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS

Cost 500 gp

Craft Wondrous Item, polymorph

Quote:

HAND OF GLORY

Aura faint varied; CL 5th

Slot neck; Price 8,000 gp; Weight 2 lbs.

DESCRIPTION

This mummified human hand hangs by a leather cord around a character's neck (taking up space as a magic necklace would). If a magic ring is placed on one of the fingers of the hand, the wearer benefits from the ring as if wearing it herself, and it does not count against her two-ring limit. The hand can wear only one ring at a time. Even without a ring, the hand itself allows its wearer to use daylight and see invisibility each once per day.

CONSTRUCTION

Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, animate dead, daylight, see invisibility; Cost 4,000 gp


So its not completely clear i suppose, 2 different answers to the same question.

Maybe a different example might help.
The whole Question came up because of the following situation:

Quote:
The Player wears 2 random magic rings, and a non magic platinum Ring on his middlefinger he needs to be the Target of the "Schield others" spell.

Is it possible? because he only has 2 Ring slots, but they are supposed to be for magic rings! Not a random Platinum ring. Yes it is used as a Focus by the cleric, but does this make it a magical Ring?

And If yes, do I have to De-Equip one of my magic rings to make it work? Or will it just overwrite the effect of one of the other rings?


deva wrote:

So its not completely clear i suppose, 2 different answers to the same question.

Maybe a different example might help.
The whole Question came up because of the following situation:

Quote:
The Player wears 2 random magic rings, and a non magic platinum Ring on his middlefinger he needs to be the Target of the "Schield others" spell.

Is it possible? because he only has 2 Ring slots, but they are supposed to be for magic rings! Not a random Platinum ring. Yes it is used as a Focus by the cleric, but does this make it a magical Ring?

And If yes, do I have to De-Equip one of my magic rings to make it work? Or will it just overwrite the effect of one of the other rings?

I see no problem with wearing additional non-magical rings. The rule for rings is about MAGICAL ones.

Personally, I wouldn't let a player wear multiples and switch which is active when they want (standard action or no). There is a reason the rule is in place that you can have only 2 magical rings at a time. The rules are very clear on this fact. The others don't work if you put on more.


deva wrote:

So its not completely clear i suppose, 2 different answers to the same question.

Maybe a different example might help.
The whole Question came up because of the following situation:

Quote:
The Player wears 2 random magic rings, and a non magic platinum Ring on his middlefinger he needs to be the Target of the "Schield others" spell.

Is it possible? because he only has 2 Ring slots, but they are supposed to be for magic rings! Not a random Platinum ring. Yes it is used as a Focus by the cleric, but does this make it a magical Ring?

And If yes, do I have to De-Equip one of my magic rings to make it work? Or will it just overwrite the effect of one of the other rings?

The slots are for magic items, not all items of that type in general. You can wear and benefit from 2 magical rings at once. You can wear any number of non-magical rings on top of that.


Don't we have an FAQ about magic necklaces and how you could wear multiple magic necklaces but only the last one put on functioned, but that you could change the active one with a standard action?

Wouldn't it be similar for rings?


Claxon wrote:

Don't we have an FAQ about magic necklaces and how you could wear multiple magic necklaces but only the last one put on functioned, but that you could change the active one with a standard action?

Wouldn't it be similar for rings?

As far as I can see there is no such FAQ, or one similar to it. There may be a developer comment somewhere, but doesn't seem to be any FAQ.


so when i get two rings to use them as a focus for shield others - do these items count as magical items for the duration of the spell (and therefore are counted against the limit of two magical rings)?

the normal platinum rings are infused with magic and are used for transfering damage between two guys.

isn't it a bit like items with charges become normal items after all charges are gone?


ryev wrote:

so when i get two rings to use them as a focus for shield others - do these items count as magical items for the duration of the spell (and therefore are counted against the limit of two magical rings)?

the normal platinum rings are infused with magic and are used for transfering damage between two guys.

isn't it a bit like items with charges become normal items after all charges are gone?

I wouldn't count it, as the platinum rings aren't permanent magical items. They are items that are temporarily infused with a spell. There's a distinct difference. The ring itself is NOT magical, it has a temporary spell cast on it. A ring of Invisibility or a ring of Protection are permanent magic items. That is what the item slots are referring to.


okay, so wearing 2 magical rings + 1 ring as a focus works perfectly fine.

thx


uhm.. so in a group of 4 players the cleric can get 3 platinum rings on his hand and use them as a focus for "shield others" for every player simultaneous? (casting "shield others" 3 times and using a different ring every time)


The shield other does not say that the focus rings take up a ring slot, so they don't. Wear as many, on whatever appendage, as you like.

Activating a magic item (usually a standard action) is turning on a magic item that in all other respects (such as in the correct slot for a slotted item) is ready to function. It is not changing one item that is not slotted for an item that is slotted (and hence making it the 'active' item. Getting a ring onto a slot is going to usually be a move equivalent (manipulate an item action) as would removing a ring from a slot, so normally it would take at least 2 move actions to switch out a ring.

Liberty's Edge

deva wrote:


I understand: A Player can wear as many Rings he can fit on his Fingers, for example 10, one on each finger. But only 2 Rings can be active at the same time.

A player can wear any number of rings on his hands, a player character has 2 slots for magic rings.

;-)

Shield others has no problems, as the focus component is "Components V, S, F (a pair of platinum rings worth 50 gp worn by both you and the target)", not a magical ring. As a GM I would allow the use of a magical platinum ring if you are normally wearing one.

About wearing more rings and having 2 of them active, I am of the old school (1st-2nd ed AD&D and D&D) where wearing more than 2 rings generated an interference and stopped all ring from working.

As I read the RAW today,donning a third ring do nothing, the first two are active. You need to remove one of the old rings (move action) and don the new one (or activate it if already worn), a standard action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple Rings and a Focus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions