DR clarifications


Rules Questions


So I can't seem to find it anywhere.
ok a lich has DR bludgeoning and magic
does the "and" mean you need both or not?
Also just basic rules on the wording pertained within DR would be awesome, that and a link to such info, thx


and means both


Starfinder Superscriber

Yes you need both. It's like the higher level devils that have Magic and Good DR. You need a magical mace to do the most damage to a lich. A Magic sword doesn't meet the requirements, nor does a simple mace.

Liberty's Edge

"And" means you need both criteria to be met

"A few other creatures require combinations of different types of attacks to overcome their damage reduction, and a weapon must be both types to overcome this type of damage reduction. A weapon that is only one type is still subject to damage reduction."

It is in the Damage Reduction part of the Universal Monster Rules in the Bestiaries


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

It’s not completely explicit in the UMR, but this bit is for “or” DR:

Quote:
A few creatures are harmed by more than one kind of weapon. A weapon that inflicts damage of either type overcomes this damage reduction.

And this is for “and”:

Quote:
A few other creatures require combinations of different types of attacks to overcome their damage reduction, and a weapon must be both types to overcome this type of damage reduction. A weapon that is only one type is still subject to damage reduction.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / DR clarifications All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions