Bit of luck, ONE roll only?


Rules Questions


Link for reference.

I am in a Pathfinder Society game right now, and our GM has ruled that bit of luck, the cleric domain ability, can only be used once. Use it one time on your round on one thing that you declare, even though the ability says you get to use it on anything. Is that the correct reading of it? Someone who has three attacks on their turn will only get to use this bit of luck on one of the three attacks?


Bit of Luck wrote:
Bit of Luck (Sp): You can touch a willing creature as a standard action, giving it a bit of luck. For the next round, any time the target rolls a d20, he may roll twice and take the more favorable result. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.

Emphasis mine. Unless PFS has ruled differently (which I can't speak to, I don't have any experience with it) the ability is very clear that it applies to every roll made in a round.


GM is saying that the part you bolded means that any one roll can have it. "Any" just means you can pick any 1 of your 3 attacks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd love to know what kind of mental gymnastics led to that conclusion. "Any time the target rolls a d20" cannot be stated more plainly.


I would argue that usually these abilities specify if you can only make one reroll. I personally disagree with your GM, but usually a random guy on the internet isn't enough to change someone's mind.

One place to ask may be the PFS specific forums. While there should be people with PFS experience in the Rules forum, you're definitely bound to find PFS GMs who can clarify how they run the ability in the PFS forums.

Grand Lodge

Your GM is mistaken.

Dark Archive

I've asked this of a local VC before, and it does apply to ALL D20 rolls in the next round, not just one.


outshyn wrote:
GM is saying that the part you bolded means that any one roll can have it. "Any" just means you can pick any 1 of your 3 attacks.

See, what your GM doesn't understand is that the two other attacks you make may also still fall under "any one" roll. Because "Any" is an inclusive word, not an exclusive word. Which means everything that fits the definition listed (i.e. if it has a D20 roll), it applies to.

In fact, the ability doesn't even have the word "one" in the description at all, which means he's inserting words that are clearly not there in an attempt to curb popularly chosen options.

I'd suggest you take the one roll your current GM gives you and have twice the opportunity to roll up a GM that's better than him. Just saying...


LOL. I think he's a fine GM, but we may have surprised him with how effective we were, and how we trivialized the encounters. So I think he was trying to find any way to make sure that we were not overpowered. That's just my guess, of course. Anyway, thank you guys for the help. He is deferring to you all.

Dark Archive

What balances Bit of Luck is that the person giving it is basically sacrificing their turn, their standard action, to help another character with theirs. Of course it is not perfectly balanced when a character sacrifices their one attack to help an archer make three.

Some of the ways Bit of Luck can be beneficial for a character to use on themselves is to help with move actions such as climbing, or if they anticipate that they have to make important saving throws before their next turn.


Athaleon wrote:
"Any time the target rolls a d20" cannot be stated more plainly.

"Every time the target rolls a d20" would be plainer.

The GM probably misinterpreted it as "Any (one) time the target rolls a d20".


Honestly I interpreted it as applying to any one roll when I read it.

In my head I thought "If they meant all rolls they should have used the word every".

I see my reading disagrees with pretty much everyone apparently, but that just makes me say that it's really poorly written if that's there intent.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bit of luck, ONE roll only? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions