Rhino Hide and Pounce


Rules Questions


Does the bonus damage from Rhino Hide apply to all attacks made by a pouncing creature?

Sovereign Court

Rhino Hide wrote:
This +2 hide armor is made from rhinoceros hide. In addition to granting a +2 enhancement bonus to AC, it has a –1 armor check penalty and deals an additional 2d6 points of damage on any successful charge attack made by the wearer, including a mounted charge.

The "any" here seems to me like that means it applies to every attack you make at the end of a charge.


Wayne Bradbury wrote:
Rhino Hide wrote:
This +2 hide armor is made from rhinoceros hide. In addition to granting a +2 enhancement bonus to AC, it has a –1 armor check penalty and deals an additional 2d6 points of damage on any successful charge attack made by the wearer, including a mounted charge.
The "any" here seems to me like that means it applies to every attack you make at the end of a charge.

And the wording of a lance indicates it should also deal additional damage on each attack, but the FAQ disagrees.

Quote:

Mounted Combat: When making a charge while mounted, which creature charges? The rider or the mount?

Both charge in unison, suffer the same penalty to AC, the gaining the same bonus to the attack rolls and following all other rules for the charge. The mounted combat rules are a little unclear on this. Replace the third paragraph under the "Combat while Mounted" section on page 202 with the following text. Note that a "mounted charge" is synonymous with a "charge while mounted," and that when a lance is "when used from the back of a charging mount" it is during a mounted charge not when only the mount charges.

A mounted charge is a charge made by you and your mount. During a mounted charge, you deal double damage with your first melee attack made with a lance or with any weapon if you have Spirited Charge (or a similar effect), or you deal triple damage with a lance and Spirited Charge.

This change will be reflected in future printings of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook

So as written it does apply to each attack. But as the FAQ above implies, it may be ruled to only work on the first attack, same as the lance bonus damage.


I wonder if I'm the only person who saw this thread title and immediately envisioned an enormous cartoon rhinoceros in a tutu attempting to hide behind a tiny shrub awaiting the opportunity to pounce oblivious prey.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

+1 to “first attack only”.

Magic the Gathering is combo lishious.
Pathfinder is more “if it’s a combo it kinda needs to cover that base”.
So if intended to combo like this, a cheap item needs to say “all attacks made at the end of a charge.”

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rhino Hide and Pounce All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.