Vital strike with charging mount.


Rules Questions


so i have looked up and found only this thread where some one ask about lances,vital strike and charging with them. most of the answers to his question about using vital strike with the lance charge where "charge is full round action so no"
..yet when i read the mounte combat section of the comabt rules i find this(talking about war trained mounts or other such mounts that dont need extra action to guide in a fight):

mounted combat:

"If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack. Even at your mount’s full speed, you don’t take any penalty on melee attacks while mounted.

If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge)."

not only that but you need a special feat to get a full round action while your mount move more then 5 feet(Mounted Skirmisher).

so correct me if im wrong but using a lance with vital striek while your mount charge is legal.


zza ni wrote:

so i have looked up and found only this thread where some one ask about lances,vital strike and charging with them. most of the answers to his question about using vital strike with the lance charge where "charge is full round action so no"

..yet when i read the mounte combat section of the comabt rules i find this(talking about war trained mounts or other such mounts that dont need extra action to guide in a fight):** spoiler omitted **

not only that but you need a special feat to get a full round action while your mount move more then 5 feet(Mounted Skirmisher).

so correct me if im wrong but using a lance with vital striek while your mount charge is legal.

No, you can not use it on any type of charge.

Quote:

Vital Strike: Can I use this with Spring Attack, or on a charge?

No. Vital Strike can only be used as part of an attack action, which is a specific kind of standard action. Spring Attack is a special kind of full-round action that includes the ability to make one melee attack, not one attack action. Charging uses similar language and can also not be used in combination with Vital Strike.


You could have your mount move, and then use a standard action to attack, and vital strike, but you wouldn't get the charge bonuses.


im not charging . the horse does. while eh do that i get a move action and an attack. now i understand the difference between an attack action and a melee attack. but the mounted combat explained the reason for not having full attack sine i need to wait for the mount to get close. i can clearly use a standard action not just an attack since one can also cast a spell mounted. and since ranged attack doesn't need to 'wait to get closer' they can full attack at range.
so the whole not having the right action drop down. in normal charge and spring attack u use a full round action to do the move and attack. here the mount move and you get your own move and seemingly standard action. if ti was only a melee attack then spell casting from a moving mount was out the window.
"you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can’t make a full attack" seem to indicate the reason for no more then one attack. not force it to be a melee attack vs standard action melee attack.


The mount and rider charge together as one. They both use a full-round action, both get -2 AC for a round, etc.

If you're not charging, you don't get any bonuses for charging.


zza ni wrote:
im not charging . the horse does. while eh do that i get a move action and an attack.

I'm afraid this is not the case.

Mounted Combat: When making a charge while mounted, which creature charges? The rider or the mount?

Both charge in unison, suffer the same penalty to AC, the gaining the same bonus to the attack rolls and following all other rules for the charge. The mounted combat rules are a little unclear on this. Replace the third paragraph under the "Combat while Mounted" section on page 202 with the following text. Note that a "mounted charge" is synonymous with a "charge while mounted," and that when a lance is "when used from the back of a charging mount" it is during a mounted charge not when only the mount charges.

A mounted charge is a charge made by you and your mount. During a mounted charge, you deal double damage with your first melee attack made with a lance or with any weapon if you have Spirited Charge (or a similar effect), or you deal triple damage with a lance and Spirited Charge.

This change will be reflected in future printings of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook


thank you, that actuly make it a lot clearer.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vital strike with charging mount. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.