
nop277 |
Might be a dumb question but do alchemist extracts (and I guess potions in general for that manner that emulate spells) with spells that target a creature (so for example crafter's fortune can target a creature with like 25 ft/lvl I think it was) have to target the person who drinks the potion or is it treated like that person is casting the spell and he can pick another target. Bonus points if you can reference me where it saids this as I seem to be blind in finding these things (I honestly could not find where it said an alchemist spell save DC was until a friend basically pointed directly at it in the book).

Fuzzy-Wuzzy |

It has to target the drinker.
Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber. The character taking the potion doesn't get to make any decisions about the effect—the caster who brewed the potion has already done so. The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect).

nop277 |
It has to target the drinker.
Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber. The character taking the potion doesn't get to make any decisions about the effect—the caster who brewed the potion has already done so. The drinker of a potion is both the effective target and the caster of the effect (though the potion indicates the caster level, the drinker still controls the effect).
Ah, ok. I also just realized we might have been using cure light wounds wrong. I kind of assumed from how it was reading that I drank the potion and it gave me the ability to channel the healing through a touch (the description of the spell kind of makes it sound like that). I'll probably bring it up at our next session but it might not mean that much since I'm a chirugeon and just hit lvl 2 and the other alchemist will probably take the infusion at some point. We actually probably will just roll with it, it does kind of make sense given the spell description if not maybe the specific rules.

nop277 |
This is from the rules for extracts under the alchemist section.
"the effects of an extract exactly duplicate the spell upon which its formula is based, save that the spell always affects only the drinking alchemist."
I think we understood that, we just read it as the effect being that you get a touch that heals what you touch. I actually don't think it's a crazy interpretation given the description of the spell but I get from reading around that it's probably not what most seem to agree was intended.

nop277 |
One of the ramifications of the Potions quote is that a potion of shocking grasp becomes a hilarious alternative to ingested poison, especially combined with poisoner's gloves.
Yeah I thought of this, I don't think alchemist get any touch attack extracts but nothing stopping another spellcaster from doing it. The one question I have is does the trigger a save like most poisons would or roll against touch ac like touch attacks do?