Bloodrider questions on blood bond


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

The bloodrider`s blood bond ability specifies personal spells and sla's.

The arcane bloodline applies the effects of certain spells to yourself as a sla, effectively making their range personal.

Logic would dictate that in this case, the sla effects would be shared with the mount... Right?


"...whenever the bloodrager is affected by a spell or spell-like ability with the range of personal while on the feral mount, the feral mount also gains the benefit of that spell."

"...when entering a bloodrage you can choose one of the following spells and apply its effects to yourself..."

Having a spell like effect through a bloodline power does not mean the range of the spell changes to "Personal". The clarification in the power of "to yourself" means you cannot use the spell like effect on another, it's a restriction of the power, not a change of range of the spell. I would contend the language of "to yourself" rather than "such spells range changes to personal" is to emphasize you cannot use the power on anything but "yourself" -- even for a creature you have the Share Spells feature.

That said - if your GM is okay with it, its not an overbalanced house rule.


Nope. Personal is a spell range, it means it can only be cast on the caster.
See the spell Mirror Image as an example. If you cast Mirror Image on yourself, it would also affect your mount.
However, Spider Climb has a range of creature touched (not personal) and so would not be transferred to your mount.

Silver Crusade

Thanks for the clarification :)

I would, I think, consider it a tad overpowered, myself. I simply was wondering :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bloodrider questions on blood bond All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions