Monkey Style - not provoking when crawling


Advice


Monkey Style says "you can crawl [...] without provoking attacks of opportunity"

In another thread I read that though you don't proboke for crawling, you still proboke when leaving a threatened space.
If that is correct in what circumstances would the style allow you to avoid an attack of opportunity?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

The link to the whole => Monkey Style

"you can crawl and stand up from lying prone without provoking attacks of opportunity,"

"Normal: Standing up is a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity."

NOTE: this contradicts the rules in the Core Rulebook that state

"Stand Up
Standing up from a prone position requires a move action and provokes attacks of opportunity."
(bolding mine)

The Crawling rules from the Move Actions section of Combat rules:
"Crawling: You can crawl 5 feet as a move action. Crawling incurs attacks of opportunity from any attackers who threaten you at any point of your crawl. A crawling character is considered prone and must take a move action to stand up, provoking an attack of opportunity."

This means that you don't have to LEAVE a threatened square while crawling to provoke, you simply have to BE CRAWLING in a threatened square at any point.

You certainly won't provoke if you use Monkey Style to stand up from prone. I'm not certain why they didn't say "crawl OR stand up" (since both are separate move actions.

It's not clear, but the simplest interpretation is that you don't provoke for standing up OR crawling.


I agree that or could replace the and in that sentence without changing the meaning, but that is just normal english.

What is the point of crawling without leaving a square? Can you crawl in Pathfinder terms without leaving your square? It is not just a move action it is an form of move.

Or in other words why is crawling mentioned in that sentence? If the intention was just to stop standing up from provoking then it would have been simpler just to mention standing up. Since crawling was mentioned it must have been intended to have an additional effect.


Crawling normally provokes from both the square you leave and the square you enter, with monkey style you no longer provoke for crawling into a square, but you still provoke for leaving.

EY_O

So You are next to an Enemy and crawling into the empty space next to You that is by the Other enemy. Normally crawling provokes from E as you leave and from O when you move in the empty square next to him. With this feat you don't provoke from O when you move next to him.


Thanks. That makes sense.

Though as we are currently playing Giantslayer most of our opponents have reach so it would be the other way around :)


Man, that is a harsh reading of the rules. I would read "you can crawl without provoking attacks of opportunity" as meaning you don't provoke, period.

By the reading where crawling and moving are two different triggers, then that also means you'd rule that normally it provokes twice when you crawl away from an enemy?


RumpinRufus wrote:

Man, that is a harsh reading of the rules. I would read "you can crawl without provoking attacks of opportunity" as meaning you don't provoke, period.

By the reading where crawling and moving are two different triggers, then that also means you'd rule that normally it provokes twice when you crawl away from an enemy?

Yes, similarly to leaving a square an entering an enemy square for tiny creatures. The plus to them is that it's all part of movement, so regardless of how many ways they provoke that are different, since it's all lumped into movement they only get hit once for it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Crawling is specifically defined at Page 186 of the Core Rule Book:
Crawling: You can crawl 5 feet as a move action. Crawling incurs attacks of opportunity from any attackers who threaten you at any point of your crawl. A crawling character is considered prone and must take a move action to stand up, provoking an attack of opportunity.

Page 110 Ultimate Combat:
Monkey Style
you can crawl and stand up from lying prone without provoking attacks of opportunity

The act of crawling means that the character moves 5 feet while prone thereby provoking an attack of opportunity. Monkey style allows the character to avoid that attack of opportunity.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Monkey Style - not provoking when crawling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice