Question about Held Objects and Spells


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I was wondering on the ruling of how spells, objects, and the surrounding elements would work.

Let us use Trade Items as the spell in this example.

An enemy has a sword. A wizard, unknown to the enemy, uses Trade Items on the sword while an Invisibility spell is active on the Wizard.

Here are the questions:

- Does the enemy knows that a spell has been used to affect the sword if the sword successfully made a save? Normally, a creature would know that a spell has affected them if they successfully make the Saving Throw. Since the target is the object, the enemy would not be the one affected.

- Since the target is an object and not a foe, would this break invisibility?

Invisibility wrote:
For purposes of this spell, an attack includes any spell targeting a foe or whose area or effect includes a foe.

If anyone can clarify this, I would be grateful for your help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about Held Objects and Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.