Grappling, Animal Fury, and Constriction


Rules Questions


Say you're playing a Barbarian. You want to grab people, and bad touch their faces with your mouth. So you get Animal Fury. Now let's say, further along, you somehow get constriction damage. Maybe you're a serpentfolk, or the DM likes you. Who knows.

Now, Animal Fury automatically does a bite attack every time you maintain a grapple, separate from your damage as you punch them or bite them again. Constriction is applied when you start a grapple, reverse a grapplr, or anything that really involves anything you do to someone when you're holding them.

So. Question is, when you bite someone with Animal Fury, do you add Constriction damage to the bite, and when you maintain the grapple and hit them again, do you apply constriction once again?

Shadow Lodge

The bite from Animal Fury occurs BEFORE the grapple attempt. If it is successful, you do bite damage and get +2 to your grapple. If that Grapple is successful, then you do your constrict damage.

You don’t get constrict damage on the bite—you get it for the successful grapple attempt afterwards.


Note that you get to do the bite before the attempt, plus again as your "damage as part of maintaining the grapple" option (which deals damage automatically with any suitable weapon), plus constrict damage in addition to that. Yay now is bitey time, bitey time, squeeze squeeze squeeze!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grappling, Animal Fury, and Constriction All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.