| Patryn- |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
When you crit with a weapon that has the burn or corrode do you suffer burn/corrode damage when you take the hit or not until your next turn starts after you gain the effect? I don't think you take the damage until the start of your turn but I've had different people rule it differently.
Also it says burn from different sources is cumulative. If a soldier lucked out and crit three times in a full attack with a 4d8 burn weapon does the target take 12d8 burn damage each round at the start of their turn until they save?
Sliska Zafir
|
Question about Critical hits and Bleed/Burn effects: From p.182 "roll your damage twice (adding to each roll all your usual bonuses, including any additional damage *from special abilities*).
From this its clear that an operative, successful in their trick attack, would roll their trick attack dice twice as well as the weapon damage twice.
But does the phrase, "special abilities" include the weapon you're wielding? For example, for azimuth laser pistol on a crit, do you roll 2d4 and then add the burn 1d4 at the same time, and then later additionally at the beginning of the target's turn? That seems like an awful lot of crit damage. Unsure what the phrase "from special abilities" means in this context.
| Perdue |
Note that example on page 11 also shows that you don't roll for damage every round. When you crit you give the target the Burning condition with a set amount of damage each round based on that initial role.
In Patryn's Example the soldier would give the target the burning condition 3 times. The first condition would be 4d8(12), the second 4d8(15), the third 4d8(19). So at the start of the targets turn each round they'd take 46 damage until they saved. And if they take another burn crit, that damage will add to what they are already taking each round.
Also note that while the damage is cumulative, the target still only has to make a single save to remove the Burning condition.