Zetha, Ahtez and tetisurah


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Question - if I discard tetisurah for its second power to explore and encounter a monster card that does not have a cold, maftet or Sphinx traits, does Zetha get a 1d12 (from tetisurah' second power) if I use Ahtez's power for the combat check to add the cold and melee traits?

I want to say yes but need a sanity check just to make sure I am reading "checks against banes that invoke the cold trait..." Is it the check or the bane that has a cold trait?

Scarab Sages

Using the noble Tetisurah like a common Troubadour? Disgusting, dahling, just disgusting. ::shakes her head::


Anyway, I think it's interesting that Tetisurah's second power bothers to draw the distinction between "invokes" for Cold and "has" for Maftet and Sphinx. I guess that makes me think they meant the power to only care about the bane, not what you do, but it isn't something that's come up in our games for...obvious reasons.... :)


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I don't have my cards on me, but if you can fully quote that second power I'll be able to help you out. (Please do not paraphrase or omit anything)


Tyquaius wrote:

Question - if I discard tetisurah for its second power to explore and encounter a monster card that does not have a cold, maftet or Sphinx traits, does Zetha get a 1d12 (from tetisurah' second power) if I use Ahtez's power for the combat check to add the cold and melee traits?

I want to say yes but need a sanity check just to make sure I am reading "checks against banes that invoke the cold trait..." Is it the check or the bane that has a cold trait?

Short answer is Yes and the reason is that the verb "invoke" only applies to checks, never to banes.

Checks invoke stuff
Banes have traits

Thus the difference between:
1 "checks against banes that invoke the cold trait..."
2 "checks against banes that have the cold trait..."
If I use a cold weapon or spell against a standard (non-cold related) monster, sentence 1 applies and not sentence 2.
If I fight a monster with the cold trait, both sentences apply.

IMHO, Mike&Vic created the "invoke" verb exactly to differentiate those two sentences/cases.


skizzerz wrote:
I don't have my cards on me, but if you can fully quote that second power I'll be able to help you out. (Please do not paraphrase or omit anything)

"Discard this card to explore your location. During this exploration, add 1d12 to your checks against banes that invoke the Cold trait or have the Maftet or Sphinx trait."

Aside: Google Image Search is your friend; this site's image of the card was the first result in a search for Tetisurah. I have a custom search engine set up in my browser so I can type "pacg (search terms)" into the address bar and go straight to an image search for "Pathfinder Adventure Card Game (search terms)". Not nearly as good as Hawkmoon's database, but what can you do? :/

Frencois wrote:
Short answer is Yes and the reason is that the verb "invoke" only applies to checks, never to banes.

Not true; cards can invoke traits separately from checks. The Invokes sidebar on page 14 of the MM Rulebook says: "A check invokes a trait if it has or is against a card that has that trait. A card invokes a trait if it has that trait. A bane also invokes a trait if it deals only damage of the type that matches that trait."

Which again leads back to the power text separating the three traits. No card I know of uses Maftet or Sphinx as a damage type, so the card seems to be saying that the bane has to have the Maftet or Sphinx trait (otherwise they'd just say "invokes" for all three traits.) So is "invokes" there just to catch banes that only do Cold damage or to also let her help out when you can get the Cold trait added to the check? Well, if the second part only refers to the bane then so should the first.

I'm sure Vic or someone will be along eventually (notably, when it's daytime where they are) to clean up our nitpicking. :)


Tyquaius wrote:
I want to say yes but need a sanity check just to make sure I am reading "checks against banes that invoke the cold trait..." Is it the check or the bane that has a cold trait?

- Axtez adds Cold and Melee to the CHECK

- Tetisurah cares if the BANE invokes the Cold trait
=> No, you will not get Teti's bonus by playing Ahtez

To clarify, all CHECKS invoke the Cold trait if they're made against a monster with the Cold trait; not all checks with Cold trait are made against CARDS with the Cold trait.

Frencois wrote:
the verb "invoke" only applies to checks, never to banes.

Zut alors, Frencois! You should know better!

Lone Shark Games

General rule for the cards is that the preposition applies to the most recent noun. So we care if the bane (not the check) invokes the Cold trait, yes.


Gosh, was totally wrong on that one!!!!
Sorry, had a loooonnnggg week-end.
Thanks guys for the quick correction.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Zetha, Ahtez and tetisurah All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion