Ratfolk Swarming and Flanking with Reduced Person


Rules Questions


Ratfolk have an ability called Swarming, which allows them to share a space with another ratfolk ally, when they do this and both attack the same enemy, they are considered to be flanking that enemy. The Scurrying Swarmer Feat allows them to use this ability with non-Ratfolk allies that are the same size as the ratfolk or one size category larger.

If Reduce Person is applied to the Ratfolk, changing his size from Small to Tiny, and he had a Tiny sized familiar, would the Ratfolk be able to use Scurrying Swarmer to flank an opponent with his Familiar?

The Flanking section says that Tiny sized creatures have 0 reach, and creatures with 0 reach cannot threaten or flank, but the Swarming ability says that if both creatures attack (not threaten) the same enemy from the same square then they are considered to be flanking.

Which rule takes precedence?


Good question. Swarming isn't terribly well-written to begin with--for one thing, since it says "attack the same opponent" instead of "threaten the same opponent", the first attacker requires knowledge From The Future! to determine whether it would get a flanking bonus in the first place.

That being said, since it says "attack", I believe you get the flanking bonus, as the behavior in swarming already overrides the flanking rules in the first place. But I'd Expect Table Variation™.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ratfolk Swarming and Flanking with Reduced Person All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions