Visage of the Bound?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I read through a thread on this item in the General section of the message board but it looks like there wasn't an official ruling on the item. It's effect is stated as so:

Paizo wrote:

Visage of the Bound

Crafted from gold and lacquer, these elaborate masks resemble various outsiders. Once per day when the wearer casts a summon monster spell, he may choose to house the summoned outsider within the visage of the bound rather than conjuring it onto the Material Plane. For the spell’s duration, the wearer can use of any of the bound outsider‘s spell-like abilities as if they were his own. A visage of the bound has no effect on outsiders already summoned or on summoning spells cast by other creatures. Removing the mask immediately releases a bound outsider.

The wearer cannot use the bound outsider’s spell-like abilities to summon other creatures, and a summoner cannot activate a visage of the bound while his eidolon is summoned. Effects that extend the duration of a summon monster spell (such a the Extend Spell metamagic feat or the conjurer’s summoner‘s charm class ability) have no effect on the duration of a spell contained by a visage of the bound. Outsiders who are opposed to one or more axes of the wearer’s alignment cannot be housed within a visage of the bound.

There seemed to be a lot of back and forth over whether or not the original clauses of the Summon Monster spell regarding teleportation applied to the wearer of this mask. Both sides had valid points but I was wondering just how much the specific trumps general rule applied here?

The item already calls out the one part of the Summon Monster spell that states you can't use the abilities of the bound summon to summon other monsters but it doesn't mention teleportation or spells with expensive components. Does the mean those restrictions don't apply to the wearer of the mask?


The creature is still summoned with that spell, so it's still subject to those restrictions.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Visage of the Bound? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions