CREATE PIT AND LARGE CREATURES!


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

hey guys-

First, a thanks for the tons of people who volunteered their knowledge when I've asked questions in the past. It helps, a ton.

My question regards create pit and large creatures. In a recent scenario, a PC cast create pit into a group of enemies. In the 10' x 10' effect area were two medium sized creatures and 1/4 of a large Annis Hag. Only the bottom right hand corner square of the Annis Hag was within the spell effect.

Does the Annis Hag fall into the pit?

According to my players, yes (surprise) by RAW. Create Pit states:

"Any creature standing in the area where you first conjured the pit must make a Reflex saving throw to avoid falling into it"

Much like if only 1/4 of the creature was in a fireball or grease spell, the creature would be affected.

How have you guys ruled this? I can't find anything on the FAQ. And while RAW seems to support the idea that 1/4 of a large creature can cause said creature to fall into a pit, the idea of ... I don't know, 4 trolls falling into the same pit with one spell just galls me a little.

Thanks again!

JOHN


if they all fail they all fall in.


The hole itself is 10x10. But all the squares adjacent to the hole also slope toward it. So the actual area affected is 20x20. That annis hag had the ground fall way from 1/4 her space, and and the ground under the remaining 3/4 of her space shift.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'd also have the hag crush the others in the pit following the Falling Rules detailed in the Environmental Rules section. But otherwise, I fully agree with your players.


Jeraa wrote:
The hole itself is 10x10. But all the squares adjacent to the hole also slope toward it. So the actual area affected is 20x20. That annis hag had the ground fall way from 1/4 her space, and and the ground under the remaining 3/4 of her space shift.

Agree. In reality if you are in a situation where your focus is on something else besides the ground you are standing on it wouldn't take much to lose your balance. So with the side of your foot in the area if your weight is shifted in that direction you could fall. Thus the reflex save to see if you keep your balance /shift your weight away from the collapsing surface.

SD


Amusing is when the creature is a Colossal serpent whose belly overlaps the pit on creation. Spells are weird, yo.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / CREATE PIT AND LARGE CREATURES! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.