Does using a command word, make a character willing?


Rules Questions


I know command worded items can me activated accidentally, but if a magic item has a magic aura so doesn't detect as magic, and the command word is found etched into it.
Does speaking the command word constitute a creatures willingness to use it, if the spell would normally allow a will save?

Yes or no is there any Raw that states this?


There's no RAW, but simple common sense says says that if you do something accidentally, you are not doing it deliberately and do not intend the consequences. That's, like, what the word MEANS.

So, no, saying a word accidentally would not involve being willing to be affected.


if activating a object is detrimental to you, you are not willing unless you want to, same if a wizard cast fireball and he is in the radius, he still can make a reflex save because he is not willing to receive the harmful effect of his spell


Just gonna jump in with the others. If it's accidental, like you speaking the command word that sets of a wand of fireball you get a save.

If you are expecting a different effect, however, and were forgoing a save, such as you were expecting a wand you use on yourself to be a wand of levitate and it was a wand of crushing despair, then you would not, same as if an ally casts a spell and you don't resist because you think it would be beneficial, but they were dominated or it was an enemy in disguise and they cast a different spell entirely (that you didn't identify as it was being cast)...

But again, in your case, you would get a save.


No. To become a willing target you must explicitly declare you are willing.

Quote:
Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you're flat-footed or it isn't your turn)

You do not declare, you're not willing.

Be aware that declaring yourself willing is only used for target-aiming spells.


Thanks so much for all your help. Just didn't know if the act of speaking and knowing something could occur would count as willingness or not, especially since the item doesn't have a negative effect.


Yorien wrote:

No. To become a willing target you must explicitly declare you are willing.

Quote:
Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you're flat-footed or it isn't your turn)

You do not declare, you're not willing.

Be aware that declaring yourself willing is only used for target-aiming spells.

What you say is true, in regards to spells that require a willing target. That was not what was being referred to. Specifically it was to forgoing a saving throw, which is far more common (probably a half-dozen or more times in one game session, it's just rarely pointed out), like when an ally casts mage armor or bull's strength on you. Those don't require willing targets, you can try and save against it. Most people obviously don't opt to do it; they trust their allies.

Saving Throws > Voluntarily Giving Up a Saving Throw wrote:
A creature can voluntarily forgo a saving throw and willingly accept a spell’s result. Even a character with a special resistance to magic can suppress this quality.

You can be tricked into voluntarily forgoing a save. If a supposed ally makes you think they are going to cast a beneficial spell, but it turns out to be something else (charm hold person, etc.) you don't get to change your mind once you find out what it really is, you accepted the spell. You do get a chance to identify it as he's casting it, however, and if you do realize they're casting something else then you certainly can attempt a save.

The reason this is little known is that most gaming groups take for granted that their allies aren't evil agents and most GMs don't bother asking if they wish to save (which they should always have the option to, even for harmless spells). The truth is most of the time they're right, so if a GM did ask for a save, it would send up a red flag.

Obviously, for the purpose of this thread question, that's not what's happening with the accidental discharge of the wand, that is just like being caught in any other effect by surprise and unexpectedly (which gives a save). It was just pointed out for completeness sake.


I would add even a Symbol of Death set to trigger when being read, touched or passed under STILL allows a Fortitude save. What you are describing is a very similar circumstance.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does using a command word, make a character willing? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions