Disguised Reach Weapons and threat?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Okay, I've been running a Bonded Wizard because it is on my long bucket list of characters to try. I choose a longspear for my bonded object.

One of the Archetype abilities is the option to, at will, apply disguise self and magic aura to the bonded object, treating it's object type as it's creature type (so, in my case, I can disguise it as other weapons, but not as an amulet or chair).

So, my character which is a Human with Giant (Orge) ancestry has a "Heavy Flail" partially because the model has that weapon and partially because I want to not appear to be a wizard. So I've got this deformed and somewhat muscular, very ugly guy with a big Heavy Flail. The perfect non-wizard disguise...

Didn't for this reason, but I'm wondering now that I've play a game with it disguised. If the Reach weapon is disguised as a non-reach weapon, how do the NPCs interact with it? If the NPCs can't penetrate the disguise, are they aware in where the weapon threatens?


4 people marked this as a favorite.

From a behavioral standpoint, sure, the NPC won't realize that the weapon can reach them until it does, or until they see it happen to someone else. There's a good chance that you can fool them into provoking an attack of opportunity unless you do something silly like set a disguised longspear against a charge.

I'd recommend disguising the reach weapon as a non-reach weapon with similar usage (such as longspear -> spear) so that the enemy doesn't realize what's up by your stance.

None of this changes where/whether you actually threaten, of course--you threaten per the rules for the undisguised weapon.


On this one talk it over with your GM, If PFS talk it over with every GM you play with. The rules are gonna be odd on interactions. Much in the same way an invisible creature grants a flanking bonus, but a hyper-realistic illusion doesn't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Disguised Reach Weapons and threat? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.